blaze wants a awoonga barra

Thread: blaze wants a awoonga barra

blaze wants a awoonga barra

my not spelt right but ya get the picture
    on the week of the M&G at 1770 I intend to head up to awoonga (sp) to try for one of those elusive barras. Dont care how big because it will be released and its only to add a species to the list. Will be hiring a car for the week and unless a better offer comes up I will hire either a boat or guide.
    The question is lures
    what are stump jumpers like (interchangeable bibs) about 100-120 long
    other sugestions
    rod and reel I have covered I reckon (may pick up another outfit though)
    Braid - how heavy 30? 50?, from what I have read
    30 lb braid with 50lb leader
    and for a big sucker you need a finger stall to stop thumb burn

Re: blaze wants a awoonga barra

I am heading up to Awoonga in October and have read and watched everything I can find on the subject and have come to the conclusion that 50lb braid is the way to go if you want to have any hope of getting a fish out of the timber - I have also been told to upgrade all the split rings and trebles with "owner" being the preferred brand. Next on the list in some more lures but haven't decided which ones to go for yet.

I am returning in October as well

when casting I had 20lb braid with 50lb gelspun

Mate had 30 lb braid and 80lb black magic mono

Arafuras in bleeding mullet were my favourite

Also if trolling then crazy deeps and 4m diving 125 scorpions

Have fun

Sy

P.S. My rig pictured

Ausfish Platinum Member warrior's Avatar

how are you fellas if the gurus of awoonga are reading this they will lead you in the right direction .dif perspective and awoonga live on the dam and have given me some great info on how to target these fish .the mates used all of their info last trip and had a ripper of a trip bigest going 1050mm and about 22kg

re-post this in Freshwater, you might get more responses.

But, Tony from here ( Agnes B & T ), will set you straight, as well as AWONGA ( Trev ).

c u then

gota sus it out as much as I can before I get there Phil so I dont look Like a complete green horn.
    thanks for the info thus far

Blaze

The latest big catch to come out of the Lake was a 1295cm Barra, that weighed in at 32kg.

We will therefore expect a big one from you also.

Harry
    I love the sound of reels screaming in the morning

Blaze,

As they say "All advice is good advise", so here is my 5 bobs worth. I have only been there once before with a group of fellow fishers and we caught plenty of Barra, smallest 1050mm and largest 1180mm - Great trip!!!

As someone said previously, get as much advise from other fellow fishers i.e. Johnny M because they fish there often and do give some very good advise, which definetely helped us last year.

We used 50lb braid, connected to 80lb flouro leader. Use strong knots and we even went to the extreme of putting super glue on the knots, none of our knots failed. We didn't use any swivels or clips and just used loop knots.

Because it was our first time there, we did alot of trolling to investigate the lake (which I personally hate) and we picked most up in the open lake and near a green bouy in line of the dam wall and we trolled around 2 knots. Also, where caught in the middle of the day in approx 6-8m depth.

We fished mostly with Predetek Vipers in the gold colour, B52's, bombers and arafura barras in bleeding mullet.

Reel used was a 200 calcutta reel and 6-10kg rod.

From the Barra that we saw, if you think you have a huge landing net, you probably don't, get a bigger one!

Good luck there mate and hope this helps alittle. We will be up there again this October, so might see you there.