Thread: Make own Jig heads lot cheaper

Make own Jig heads lot cheaper

hey guys should probably be writing this in the tackle section but thought more readers would read it here, any way i started using softies and kept getting snags and losing my tackle and the price of jig heads isnt exactly cheap , so i was talking to some mates recently and they told me what they did. They get a long shank or normal size hook you would use feed it through your placcie and they get a slit shot sinker and crimp it on above the hook eye and they say it does exactly the same thing they reckon they catch just as many fish.

just thought i would let you guys know just a tip i picked up and if you can save money and catch just as many fish why not.

Cheers Wes.

Dirty

Re: Make own Jig heads lot cheaper

Sounds like a plan....

Pity I have never caught a fish on plastics! let me know how you go!

g.

Bundy_Burp

Sounds like a good idea I'll give it a try tomorrow and see how it goes and lets face it saving a few dollars is always a good thing .

Hey Wes,

1st, congrats on your user name mate, the 1st time I saw Sotally Tober I thought it was a cracker of a name.. on to your subject which I am certain will get moved to tackle when a mod sees it, but I wrote a post ages ago because I found replacing jig heads was getting very expensive, so I make my own. It is a little more involved than crimping split shots, but still a bit of a backyard effort that works. See it at http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB...42941063/11#11

Personally I don't think the splitshot idea is going to fool the bream and snapper, it has to present better than that in the water, with the right action. But that's only my opinion, I stand corrected.

Those custom molds look the goods. With the amount of jig heads I lose it would pay to look a little more closer.

Yep, i can see that the fish pull out their microscopes and magnifying glasses and take an extremely close look at the jighead before they debate whether they'll smash the placcie or not...

Damn good idea if you ask me and i'm going to give it a go - i think you would still have to be neat about it to ensure that you still get the smoothness of the action though...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

yep they work!!!!!!! have been using split shots on my jigs for ages!! i also use a little piece of solid strand wire trace as a bait holder you do need to be sure the split shot is closed at the bottom though as it falls out easily. I also do some of the heavier jigs in the standard round sinker molds! oh before i explain how i do this i will state i use the 90deg aberdine hooks and not long shank or other normal hooks, they are about $9 for a pack of 50 size 1 and smaller and $9 for a pack of 25 1/0 or bigger. I drill out the pouring hole one more size to allow the lead to pour around the eye of the hook easier, then lay the hook and a pre cut piece of wire into the mold and hold in place with a little electrical tape. its just a matter of cleaning up the excess lead around the eye when your done!! too easy if anyone wants more info let me know!!

Brandon...

Quote Originally Posted by T1
    Yep, i can see that the fish pull out their microscopes and magnifying glasses and take an extremely close look at the jighead before they debate whether they'll smash the placcie or not...
    T1

Presentation can make all the difference between coming home with a smile on your dial, or coming home fishless. Otherwise we would not go to the extreem of using transparent leaders and varying our retreive methods. IMHO the jig head and how it moves the placcie through the water can make all the difference.. Give it a go by all means.... as I have, but I think the guys selling huge amounts of Jigheads will be safe to keep stocking up their shelves.

Bundy_Burp

I think the SP itself more so than the jig head gives the illusion of movement I have tried some of my own home jigheads today and they worked just fine . Checked them against the real thing and couldnt see any difference as T1 said I dont think the fish will check them that closely .

Bundy

Jig head moulds can be purchased from $30-$50. alot less rooting around so you can make more quicker. I use the gamakatsu jig hooks as they are stronger, sharper and don't rust like the musted hooks do. they start at about $20 for a box of 50 which still works out to be about 1/3 of the price of good tt or nitro jig heads which use the same hooks.

Where do you get jig head moulds for that sort of money?

yeah Jeremy!!! were can we get them for that pirce!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

last time i checked they were around 89-100 (AUD) each and they only had one cast of each size in the mould > >

Brandon...

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem

Personally I don't think the splitshot idea is going to fool the bream and snapper, it has to present better than that in the water, with the right action. #

I agree. First up, the hook will need to be straight, not kirbed or offset. Second, the eye section of the hook needs to be bent at 90 degrees or similar so the weight of the jig head is below the eye of the hook as a keel. If you can do both of those, it should work.

In my opinion, use the best you can afford. Presentation of the bait or the plastic is absolutely critical in most situations. The fish don't use a magnifying glass , but if it doesn't look right, they'll pass it up. Why use anything other than the best you can affors, as it will cost you fish.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

If your after some cheaper but still good jigheads give the "bassmaster" heads a try of ebay....
    40 for around $20-25 inc postage. Ive been using them for a few weeks now and there great as good as the TT heads IMO.
    I know Karl's grabbed some for his trip up north and he was happy with them aswell.

Archer, they look ok, only one lot on ebay atm.. and they are all heavy buggers

Will keep a look out in the future though

Brandon...