what is best knot to join braid line and mono leader? i got 30lb braid platypus super and what leader does anyone suggest.
greg
what is best knot to join braid line and mono leader? i got 30lb braid platypus super and what leader does anyone suggest.
greg
Hi Greg ,
For joining mono leader to braided line , my favourite is MidKnot ;
To get a successfull knot , use soft leader which the braided line can sink into body of the mono line and get a good grip .
Practices make perfect , as usual so when you have done it , try to break the knot by pulling the mono leader n the braided
line , if the knot slip then you haven't tied it properly , I wud burn the end of the mono leader to form a " burl " as extra
insurance against slippage .
For 30 lbs. braided line , I wud use minimum 60 lbs mono leader .
In my area , we can buy what is called " shock " leader which is soft and stretchy to absorb the shock generated by a strike .
JonLi .
It's not what you don't know that gets you into trouble , it's what you know for sure that ain't so .
Mark Twain .
G'day mate, I suggest that you buy a copy of Geoff Wilson's book " Complete Book Of Fishing Knots And Rigs" from K-mart, then you decide, hey?
For me, it is the Albright and I only use 20 lb Platypus super braid and el cheapo 40lb mono leader, 1-1.5 metres. Barra to 60 lbs on the rig.![]()
And in the salt water I use 30lb platypus super braid and 50lb Jarvis walker mono leader to 1.5 metres; spano @ 33lbs and black jew @22 lb....so it does work.
alright keeps me going.. i use 30lb to 80lb mono.. nice and simple.. hasnt failed me..
Mate
Try this site it wil save you a few bucks,www.animateknots.com/
Louie
Louie, are you sure about that link? I couldn't find fishing knots there.Originally Posted by LOUIE
Anybody tried using a rizzuto finish to the Braid leader Knot? I had a BLK slip on a snagged rig last week. Changed the knot to the Stren just before I landed a PB 6kg snapper(5.93 g and g). Thought I had tied the BLK well
BTW Greg - FWIW I think the above two knots are probably the best. Some also recommend the improved Albright. I support the suggetion for you to buy wilsons complete book and to look for his preferred knots.
As for leader material - I always now use quality flurocarbon shock leader, Toyomoto, triumph etc. Be wary of Jinkai, it seems there are 2 types of Jinkai and the most common one in tackle stores is for crimping and not for tying knots in. I found this out painfully by losing perhaps 2 of my best ever fish to failed dropper loop knots in Jinkai.
Louie, are you sure about that link? I couldn't find fishing knots there.Originally Posted by Tony_N
[/quote]
Apologies fingers didnt keep up with the brain, site should have been www.animatedknots.com.
Louie
Bloke from lucinda lures showed me the double uni knot
I use 20lb braid to 50lb gelspun
Sy
I always start with a bimini double in the braid.
Favourite knot double to leader would be the braid leader knot (as explained in Geoff Wilson's book).
It's nice and slim, goes through the guides well and I use it for everything from chasing bass in impoundments, to big barra and offshore.
Have had a couple come undone when barra fishing (after about 1000 casts). A dab of super glue should fix that though.
I use 30lb braid for barra, with 60lb or 80lb Hawk leader.
Offshore I use 50lb or 80lb braid with anything from 60lb to 120lb leader depending on the country, type of fish etc.
Another worthwhile knot is the double uni. I reckon it's the strongest join between a braid double and mono leader but, for me anyway, it's just too bulky, clunking through the guides.
whooshka - If you do some knot strength tests (even a straight pull to a set of spring scales) I reckon you will be surprised how much line strength you lose with the double uni (mono to braid). I agree with you about the braid leader knot as probably the best around - though I recently had it slip. Obviously I tied it badly. I'm now going to put the Rizzuto finish on it AND I might use some superglue as well on your suggestion. I believe that the Stren, which is a variation on the double uni, is a better knot than the double uni for joining mono leader to braid.Originally Posted by whooshka
FWIW
Cheers Tony,
I've never put the double uni on the scales. Caught some big fish with it though. On closer reflection, I mostly use the double uni for light line class (1,2,3 and 4kg) for joining a heavier mono leader to a bimini double in the light main line. Mono to mono is a different kettle of fish though. Braid leader knot all the way.
Improved Albright 30lb Braid to 60 lb Penn 10X leader.
Hasn't fail me yet.
Improved Albright 30lb Braid to 60 lb Penn 10X leader.
Hasn't fail me yet.
thanks heaps guys. i will just have to go and practice.
greg