Thread: tyrnos reels?

tyrnos reels?

Looking at buying a tyrnos 20 for a broom stick i have got and need some feed back on how they are.,

Re: tyrnos reels?

G'day Breamking
    I have sold a few of the Tyrnos reels over the last twelve months and all customers are very happy with thier performance. So much so that I grabbed one myself for trolling and floating livies out the back of the boat. I love them myself and find the graduated drag very powerful and easy to use for feeding baits out etc. My only comment would be that they may be a little heavy for all day bottom bashing, but tops for the usage I mentioned above.

Regards, Tony [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

great real mate, agnes jack hooked me up with one
    a while back and she is a rippa. #
    cheers dale

yeh they are fantastic, i have 2 of them a 20 for bottom bashing and a 30 for trolling/floating out livies

as tony said they can be a tad heavy which I found at first but after a while you get used to them and they don't feel all that bad at all, these days i don't even notice it

Tyrnos reels are fantastic and I'm surprised we don't hear more people talk about them.

I was a bit reluctant in buying one for bottom bashing because of the high gear ratio of 5 to 1 but have found this not to be an issue at all especially if you don't fill the spool right up to get that extra cranking power.

They are silky smooth reel with a drag system to match. Best part is they come with the longer handle, which is perfect unlike the TLDs. As mentioned above some do think the extra weight could be an issue but I figure if your worried about the little extra weight then you shouldn't be offshore trying to catch big fish. I haven't found the weight to be a problem and I'm certainly no muscle man

I now have 4 Tyrnos 30's and will be soon selling my 5 tld25 light game reels for new Tyrnos's

Buy one you won't be disappointed.

Regards Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

i have a tyronos 30 for trolling and find it fantastic-10yr warranty-shimano gears great value top quality-they say in the ads its like a tld on steroids and i think theyre right

dave

i took gregs words of advice i brought a 30 then i went to the workshop and built a rod[ god i love ausfish] mate i look at tld,s and the trynos are so much better, buy one you wont be upset by it,[ and now all i have to do is find a boat with a space on board ] to try it out hint hint cheers ian

truck_hunter

G,DAY breamking i have a tyrnos 30 great reel they are a tad heavy but i am used to it, great for bottom bashing,pulls the fish up from the reefs without any trouble [smiley=beer.gif]

Quote Originally Posted by Reefmaster
    I haven't found the weight to be a problem and I'm certainly no muscle man

Regards Greg
    Don't sell yourself short mate, i reckon you couldn'd help but build up muscle bulk lifting those bloody reds of the bottom!!!!!

Ps. B@stard
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Top reel i have a 20 and use it for livebaiting and for trolling, looked at a 30 as they were same price at bcf but the 20 just felt better, but thats just my personal preferance they are both great reels.

Breamking,

The Tyrnos 20 and 30 are great fishing reels.Of the 85 or so we have sold in the last 12 months we have had no complaints and the comments have been positive every time.
    Both reels have the same gearing and drag system but the 30 has the greater capacity being a bit wider.For bottom bashing and general offshore fishing we have found the 20 to be more popular for the braid users as the handle is closer to the rod center and reduces the rod rolling in your hands when cranking hard.
    Tough reels and well worth the extra money over a TLD in our opinion.

Sundown Marine.
    Cnr Anzac Ave and Regency street
    Redcliffe QLD 4020
    (07) 32033007

Quote Originally Posted by Reefmaster View Post
    Tyrnos reels are fantastic and I'm surprised we don't hear more people talk about them.

I was a bit reluctant in buying one for bottom bashing because of the high gear ratio of 5 to 1 but have found this not to be an issue at all especially if you don't fill the spool right up to get that extra cranking power.

They are silky smooth reel with a drag system to match. Best part is they come with the longer handle, which is perfect unlike the TLDs. As mentioned above some do think the extra weight could be an issue but I figure if your worried about the little extra weight then you shouldn't be offshore trying to catch big fish. I haven't found the weight to be a problem and I'm certainly no muscle man

I now have 4 Tyrnos 30's and will be soon selling my 5 tld25 light game reels for new Tyrnos's

Buy one you won't be disappointed.

Regards Greg

"..you don't fill the spool right up to get that extra cranking power...." - what % of spool should be filled in this case then?

SPlash

I agree with the above. I have four of them (2 x 20's & 2 x 30's) for trolling and absolutely love them. If you can spend the extra money I would also look closely at the 2-speed versions. I am also thinking of buying one of the new 16's soon too.

What is the advantage of the TYR20 over TYR30 anyway - or is sit just personal comfort?

How woudl the TYR20 rate against the Saltist 30H (4.9:1 drag ratio) ?

Splash