Thread: Why does no-one use baitcasters in Victoria?

Why does no-one use baitcasters in Victoria?

Hi, new to this forum. From the NT, used to do lots of barra and other light tackle fishing, have moved to Melbourne. Have not been able to get into fishing down here yet.

What I enjoy is working with a baitcaster, aiming around snags or rocks trying to guess where fish are, enjoying the precision casting involved. But in the types of fishing that seem most similar to this: mulloway, bream etc around the estuaries, most people seem to use threadlines. I even discussed this in a tackle shop and the guy said 'that's because they're more accurate', which suggested to me he didn't know how to use a baitcaster.

Clearly to me one of two things is up: either people just haven't cottoned on to the pleasures of using baitcasters, or I'm missing some good reason to use threadlines. The only one I can think of is you get a bit more distance.

It's particularly tough because I've had a few shots at getting my wife into fishing, and so far she's not overly convinced, except that she really likes using a baitcaster. She said 'get me a baitcaster and we'll go fishing in victoria'.

Can anyone help, particularly if you're adept with both types of reel and live down this way?

Re: Why does no-one use baitcasters in Victoria?

One main reason for the lack of baitcasters in southern estuaries is that the lures used are usually light weight and downsized compared to the north. If you using a 16th ounce jighead on a baitcaster you won't get far. This means threadline reels are more versatile. Saying this though there are still alot of fish that are prepared to have a go at larger lures but IMO downsizing lures is a nessesity in highly populated areas therefore making threadlines more effective due to casting distance. Also because I am landbased, baitcasters are not viable when flicking in tight country for bass etc. from the bank....it can be done though.

Pete.

To technical

Welcome to Ausfish Pikey,

I don't live in Victoria...(well, I'm actually quite glad I don't) but I use both a baitcaster and threadline reels. Prefer the threadline for casting lighter lures for bass & the baitcaster for heavier barra lures.

Might I suggest a good compromise, a closed face reel can eliminate the dramas of birds nests that sometimes happen with baitcasters, but the casting action is very similar IMO, particularly if you use one on a pistol grip rod.

Just a thought.

cheers roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

stick with the baitcasters n threadlines
    IMO the closed face reels will just give ya the Ships

Because they are Victorians, thats why. #
    It's like a whole other country down there, a lot of things they do don't make sense, #(or don't do in this case) . #

Mexicans
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

Thanks all. The 'lighter lures' thing makes sense, now that I think about it. Baitcasters are ideal for casting stuff that's not too light or heavy and in short to medium distances, but pretty limited otherwise.

I'll get a couple of outfits and work on converting the missus. I've never done any 'soft plastic' fishing ('cept the old vibrotails, which were pretty crap), but am pretty open to this as it looks like a lot of fun, so I reckon I'm gonna buy a couple of threadline outfits, a big stash of small to medium rubbery things and start by taking a weekend in Gippsland and chasing some bream and mulloway, looks like the closest thing to what I used to enjoy.

Geoff_Atkinson

Might be because one head would start arguing with the other head where to cast the lure!!!!