How do you store your rods?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do you store your rods?

How do you store your rods?

Hi gang,

I purchased a few new rod and reel combo's at the Sydney boat show.

Currently they are sitting in the dining room and the wife has expressed her disapproval of their current resting place.

Just wanted to know how people store their rod when not in use. Do you store them with reels on or off? Do you have rod holders set up in the garage etc?

I have a decent garage with heaps of crap, just don't want to shove them in the corner and possibly be damaged.

I was thinking of getting a length of pvc tubing with the twist caps like you see on tradies utes, to store the rods and get one of those storage boxes from Bunnings for the reels.

But some of you may have fang dangled storage setups to protect your gear.

Ideas?

Re: How do you store your rods?

Simple but functional

Just a batten with clips

Make sure you position the clips where they won't meet with the eyes on the rods ........a wider batten allows you more leeway in positioning the clips so that there is less likelihood of them interering with the rod eyes.

Like ya bricks Kev
    Got my rods stored in a simular way to Kev's but with loose plastic clips. Also leave my reels on and pull them off sometimes to clean the reel seats.

Quote Originally Posted by blaze

Like ya bricks Kev

The deckie's choice. There was 2 pallets over when they built the house and she argued with the builder that they must've been costed in so they better not uplift 'em. Me, I just wanted the place cleared out and was sick to death of seeing these bricks sat in the yard when we moved in. Went fishing one day.......came back........and just look what my clever little deckie had done She even ordered the crusher dust herself..........I'm redundant I tell you!

I use a vertical rod rack also. Give them a good clean after use, back the drags off and leave the reels on the rods, but take all the terminal tackle except snap clips off.

Built a timber wall mounted rack myself. Pretty standard and simple design.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Ausfish Gold Member

I'm lazy so I just bought a Wilson rod rack like you see in the shops
    Shane

recently made a rack like the store ones, best thing ever, except it only hold half the collection, so I'm about to make another one.

Yehh i just use the ones from the stores there good and function. and store well

hardb8

Hi Matt,
    Mine have reels removed,And after being washed and dried are placed in rod bags,Then go into the setup you have mentioned being a lenght of 90mm sewer pipe. (Like the tradies have)

If ya make one,Measure the rod lenght and allow for some type of foam to be cut and siliconed to the bottom glue on cap and to the screw on cap at the other end.In 90mm pipe you'll fit three rods in bags comfortably.These can then be stored verticaly in the corner of ya garage or behind ya bedroom door.I've also made a 100mm one that takes about five rods.They are also excellent to take camping to ensure ya rods arrive safely and in one piece.

Regards hardb8

I have a custom 14 rod wooden holder along side my bed that's full and holds most of the spinners and baitcasters on their rods ready to go. Also every reel is in a reel bag or neoprene cover to keep the dust and fluff off. Then there's a 6 rod plastic molded and foam filled rack screwed to the wall in the spare room that holds the cheapy kids combos and old combos kept for ham fisted visitors who don't deserve the good gear. The surf rods are residing laid on the top edge of an old double bed leaned against the wall in the spare room at the moment till the new house is built and we get out of the rental we're in. Not the best place for them but right now there's nowhere else with enough room that's secure enough.

I fish therefore I am

I just slide them under the patioroof in fashionly order ,this way they out of the way ,and still handy to reach importantly out of the reach of the piglets
    George

At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

hussy

matt if you want some rod bags and are close to bribie give us a pm and i will give you some . hubby

A bit agricultural, but there's about 30 rods there from 1kg baitcaster through 15' Surf rod to 130lb Fenwick Game Rod. Keeps them off the floor and stops anything falling on them or walking in to them
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to