Thread: Calcutta CTE300 or Penn International 975 or.....

Calcutta CTE300 or Penn International 975 or.....

I've decided it's time to add a decent rig to the arsenal coz one day even I might catch a fish with muscle

What I'm after is a rig for throwing lures at Awoonga barra and also to double for throwing lures at GT's, mackeral etc. I'm looking at loading it with 40 or 50lb Finns.

I decided to get the reel first and then match a rod, so I did a bit of looking on the web and decided a Penn International 975 might fit the bill. Whent down to the tackle store today and the had one there which judging by the label has been sitting a while and is priced at $425.
    Is that a good price?
    While I was there I had a look at a Shimano Calcutta CTE300 which is slightly smaller physically, but did seem smoother in operation. With the Penn, you can feel the gears meshing ever so slightly, but the Shimano was like silk. The Shimano was quite a bit dearer though. They also had a couple of "special" shimanos called black something or other that are supposed to have been tricked up at the factory. These were getting up in the mid $700 mark. I wouldn't mind paying the extra if there was a real benefit to it, but I have to wonder whether I wouldn't be better off with the Penn and throwing a set of Erskine drag washers in it.
    They will also have some Penn Internalional 955's coming in soon which they reckon will be mid $500.

I'd appreciate anyone with first hand experience with these reels offering some feedback.

On another note, when I first started looking at the Penn 975, I was leaning to the 975TLD (Lever Drag), for no other real reasong than I don't have a lever drag reel and thought it might be handy for trolling occasionally.
    The guy at the tackle shop seems to think that lever drags tend not to cast as far du to the internal construction. Something to do with the spool not being completely disengaged on lever drags?

So waddya reckon guys and gals?
    Am I on the right track gear wise and are the prices reasonable?

Owen
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Re: Calcutta CTE300 or Penn International 975 or..

Hey mate
    I would go with the calcutta, i dont own one tho i have just had good experiences with shimano in the past

T-roy

David_P

G'day Owen,

I've got a 300TE and it is great. Nice and smooth and brilliant drag. Loaded with 300m of 30lb braid.

Owen ,

If casting is your main purpose , take the CTE300 because the #975 is too wide and too heavy . With braided line , you can pack a few hundred meters of line into that CTE300 with dartanium drag washers , you should get 7 kg max. drag out of it and that is plenty .

JonLi .
    It's not what you don't know that gets you into trouble , it's what you know for sure that ain't so .
    Mark Twain .

depends on the ratio of casting to trolling. I think you should seriously consider a quality threadline around the 4000 size. Much better tool for casting slugs and poppers etc than a baitcaster reel.

Anyway, just a thought.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

I got a calcutta CTE400 for awonga barra loaded with 50 fins casts like a dreeam is a little heavy so id say the 300 would be great..Drags super smooth

Have a look at Daiwas Team Luna range, or the CV-X/CV-Z Millionaire's if you can still find them, I've got the CV-Z253, awesome Barra reel and use it for bottom fishing offshore too. Upgraded the drag with a set of carbon fibre washers, gives me more drag than I would ever be game to use on that reel, and smooth right through the range.

Jeremy,
    You make a valid point however you haven't seen me casting lures in the dam
    Bit like Peter Barrett in concert really
    I find with a thread line I often end up in the trees. Just a little easier to control the cast with a baitcaster. For outside work I'd agree with you 100%
    Ultimately it'd get used outside more than the dam, coz I enjoy that sort of fishing more so it's likely to be floating pillies or whatever too.

JonLi,
    Have you used both?
    The Penn is definately wider. Not sure of the weight difference.

Owen
    Owen

Owen ,

I don't have CTE300 but I have 101DC n 201DC which is lighter still but then we don't get a meter plus barra in my turf so these reels are fine by me , only got stripped once on 101DC .

I am trying to answer your question between CTE300 which I stand by as the better reel for casting when compared to Penn 975 which is a wide spool baitcaster , myself I have an old CT700 and I use this reel for livebaiting as I find it is not so good for jigging too .

Weight wise , CTE300 is 350 gr. , I am not sure what is the weight of #975 but it bound to be heavier and the lever drag version is going to be even heavier still .

For casting all day , you want the lightest possible reel + the best casting rod you can afford , Daiwa makes light reels but I like
    DC features of Shimano , got too spoilt with it .

JonLi .
    It's not what you don't know that gets you into trouble , it's what you know for sure that ain't so .
    Mark Twain .

I have had cvx and cvz daiwas and like them better than the shimano, but I have sold them and got the penn 965 in the place of I can cast just as far, yes it is not as smooth but I have taked 22kg jew on it and it has real balls and stronger drag than the others

Krazyfisher ,

Those Daiwas are wide spool reels too , I guess if one get used to with it , then it's OK but for me I prefer the smallest / lightest casting reel as I may cast 100 times before getting a strike , at times . Most of my fishings are from a small boat , in the case of barra fishing .

For GT , nothing beat eggbeater but there is no trees to snag your lures . I always think in term of tennis , baitcaster cast is a volley while eggbeater cast is a lob .

Jonli .
    Mark Twain .

the following is the weights of the penn, shimano and diawa. just me but I would go with the pen or the diawa both offer the goods . have a look at the ratings on the daiwa

shimano te 300
    Line Capacity: 180M of 7kg.
    Gear Ratio: 5 to 1.
    Weight: 375 grams.

penn 965
    Gear ratio: 4.75 to 1
    Line capacity: 270m of 6kg
    Weight: 340grams

penn 975
    Gear ratio: 4.75 to 1
    Line capacity: 220m of 8kg
    Weight: 365grams

daiwa luna
    Gear ratio: 5.1 to 1
    Line capacity: 250m of 6kg
    Ball bearings: 5 CRBB + 1 roller
    Weight: 311grams

black sheep 250 daiwa
    Line Capacity: 150m of PE:4. (40lb braid)
    Gear ratio: 5:1
    Ball Bearings: 10 + 1 roller
    Weight: 355 grams.
    Drag capacity: 7kg

I looked at the Black Sheep. Was a nice reel, but about 70% dearer then the penn
    Meaning I can near enough pay for the rod for it to go on with the difference in price.
    When people come to buy a welder off me I offer them what I think suits there needs and assure them that they won't be buying a dud no matter which they choose. I'm kind of thinking the same applies here.
    After scanning ebay it seems that I can do better price wise, but I'll offer the local guy the opportunity first.

Agnes Jack, if you read this you're more than welcome to PM me some pricing. I'd rather support a local even if it is a few bucks dearer.

Owen
    Owen

daiwa HRF for the barra.

Threadline for the offshore stuff. Start at 4500 baitrunner/tss4 and go up from there

Would be my pick :-)

I have a cte 200,300,400 great for casting and awesome drags well worth the extra dollars billy