Thread: Rigging sp prawns

Fast_Freddie

Rigging sp prawns

G'day Folks,
    I'm in the favorite tackle shop yesterday and spotted some new Berkely SP prawns (4inch) that looked to good to refuse so I bought a packet.
    Wife reckons this is becoming a nervous twitch . . . mmmmm . . . she might actually be is right!

Anyway I got home, went through the tackle box and thought 'What jig head am I going stick in these things?"

What do you guys recommend I use in these things?

Fredo

Re: Rigging sp prawns

Use the lightest you can get away with for the conditions, and make sure its rigged nice and straight so it glides nicley to the bottom without spiraling, the fish will nearly always hit it when its falling back slowly. Not many fish can resist a good prawn imitation... good luck.

Fast_Freddie

Thanks Simon,
    Never had much sucess with soft plastics but these things just look like the real deal so I'll give them a go.

They are actually 5.5 inch long so I'm gonna need a decent size hook.

Might be okay around Mud Island for Squire.

Fred

Hey mate
    Give the Squidgy round head jigheads a go in the #4/0 9gram, my mate uses them on 4inch shrimp and the go ok.

T-roy

Fast_Freddie

Cheers Troy,
    These things are 5.5 inches long . . . I reckon I might even get away with a 5/0 worm style hook without any weight??

I guess its suck it and see hey!

Thanks again,

Fred