Thread: Jack Erskine Drag Washers

Jack Erskine Drag Washers

I've read a little about these washers in Diawa Millionaires, and hear of great improvements in drag pressure etc. Does anyone have any experience with these washers in a Shimano 200B or a Curado? I'm keen to find out about them before I head up to Awoonga in 2 weeks. even if you have them in another type of reel not mentioned, I'b be keen to hear what you think about them.

Re: Jack Erskine Drag Washers

I put a set of smoothys in an Abu 9000CL 2 speed and got enough drag pressure to chew the middle out of the anti reverse dog . Whether you get the smoothys, extreme smoothys or the new carbontex washers you can't go wrong.
    I fish therefore I am

I had the same experience Bushbasher, I put a set of extreme smooties in my Trinidad that uped the drag by about 30% but the anti reverse mechanism has failed a few times.

I have them in a Blue Backer,Calais,Okuma 90 baitrunner,Okuma 65ec.
    Iv"e had no trouble in the okumas and uped the drag 40%.Yet to try the blue backer and calais; waiting for Awonga.
    Graham

Rocket439

hey mate,
    just got my shimano curado bantam 200BSF back from jack a couple of weeks ago. he put in the carbontex drag washers and fully serviced it it is now better than new. heaps smoother and quieter and also got an extra few kilos of drag as well ( from just over 4kg to just under 7 kgs). just be aware that he has a fair bit of a back log so he wont be able to do them for a few weeks. if you can do them your self, give him a call and ask him to send you a set.

Carbontex washers rock! Worth spending a few drachmas on them. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

hardb8

Hi Mark,
    Go the carbontex,I'm more about smoooooothness than big preasure though.I'm familiar with my reels,But if you have your parts break down sheet that was supplied with your reel you should have no trouble installing your own.I recommend gettin a tub of the light weight Cals' drag grease when ya purchase ya washers.Good stuff that will last ya a heap of services.I reckon it's great asset to be familiar with your gear.As good as Mr Erskine is,Not even he can help ya at Awoonga if somthin ever does go wrong.And this is the place you'll find out.

He supplied me a great service,product and some kind words.Highly recommended.

Regards hardb8

How do you contact Jack Erskine? Anyone got a link or ad or phone number etc?

bearclaw

http://www.jackerskine.com
    If you have trouble Jack will talk you through it on the phone. Yes get some Cal's grease.

Myles