I'm in love!!!!!

Thread: I'm in love!!!!!

I'm in love!!!!!

I just had a couple of days down at Boambee Bay on the south side of Coffs Harbour. We took the little one down to meet up with the wife's folks so they could spend some quality time with their grandson and hopefully give me some quality time to explore the little creek there as well. I got to meet up with Jasfish on Saturday and spent the day chucking soft plastics with him with out a great deal of success but we still had a good day and scared up a couple of flatties. If you read this one Jason, cheers for the mini meet and greet, hopefully catch you in November.

Before I start worrying Jason a bit, I did fall in love while I was in Coffs, but it was with a big yellow building. I stopped in at Fishing Tackle Australia on the Pacific Hwy for the first time in my life and definitely not my last. OH MY GOD!!!!!! Soooooooooooo much tackle all under one roof, bugger BCF and their "Wall of Lures", try "Halls of Lures" on for size. There was about 3 Kilometers of glass cabinets just full of fishing reels , it nearly made me burst into tears to see the full range of Alvey Reels on display all in one spot. In the back corner, it was filled with rod building gear, choices and choices of blanks and guides and threads and reel seats and butt plugs and..........................., this place is just dangerous.

I squeezed in two visits and both times after I left I had to go back to the resort and have a cigarette and a nice lie down, talk about emotionally erect!!!!! I got to say it wasn't just me I met some Kiwi's on holiday who had just stumbled on to the place by accident, actually his wife talked him into stopping, and he was gob smacked, as I was leaving he was video taping the place to show his mates at home so they would believe him.

The other unbelievable thing is that the prices are good and so are the staff both at the same time and under the same roof, it is possible!!! Before you ask I hardly spent much money at all, 2 new reels, 36 lures, soft plastics, jig heads, more rod building gear, hooks, sinkers, and a couple of other things, pretty restrained actually but then again I'm back in Coffs in November.
    Typo alert 36 should read 16, bugger, still maybe in November.

Re: I'm in love!!!!!

Is that MO's Tackle or is that somewhere else again ??

Craigus

Quote Originally Posted by shayned
    The other unbelievable thing is that the prices are good and so are the staff both at the same time and under the same roof, it is possible!!! Before you ask I hardly spent much money at all, 2 new reels, 36 lures, soft plastics, jig heads, more rod building gear, hooks, sinkers, and a couple of other things, pretty restrained actually but then again I'm back in Coffs in November.
    I wonder what you are like when you let loose buying tackle

Not that bad really as the reels were Alveys and not dear, and the lures were little things like Tassie Devils and small bass and bream lures and small poppers and a lot of these were only 4 bucks a peice, hell, the Gulp packets were only $7.00 each and a full range to choose from. I had their MO's catelogue under my arm when I walked in and they discounted the shelf price for me.

I've always thought about going to that place.

Now I think I'll have to make it a MUST DO!!

That sounds dangerous Shayne, glad you made it out of there still married!

Only just Karl, only just!

bearclaw

Shayne my missus won't let me travel down the coast road anymore because of that big yella building.

Myles

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Well just got home and dropped in on my weekly visit to Fishing Tackle, yes it is the same shop for MO TACKLE.

The boys are putting together an internet site, which has been on the go for a fair while.

They also stock camping gear and boating gear.

It is a local company and employs about 22 locals which is good for the area.

No I am don't work there, just have received a lot of help from the Reg, Laurie and the rest of the team.

They have been very helpful to the local comps as well.

Darren just returned from Tinaroo and Gulf and had good reports for the areas. It great to meet fellow fishers behind the counter not like some of the Mart type shops.

Have been stocking up for next trip to Monduran at the end of month. New lures to trip, new rigs, new rods and reels, all hopefully will turn into more big barra caught and released.

Glad you found them so helpful, being going there for over 10years and enjoy dropping in just for a talk.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Can someone with a MO TACKLE catalog please give me their phone number or email address so I can get a hold of a catalog? PM if necessary. Don't want to upset the powers that be.

SORTED, THANKS ROO

Follow your dream, Shayned. Move to Coffs and get a job at FTA. Imagine the staff discount!!

Shayne...... ROADTRIP!

Dan,
    How much trouble do you get in when you visit a normal run of the mill tackle shop? Still I'm pretty sure I could get my hands on a long wheel base Transit Van,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Quote Originally Posted by chrisfish
    Follow your dream, Shayned. Move to Coffs and get a job at FTA. Imagine the staff discount!!
    Chris,
    Inside of a month I'd be owing so much money that I'd have to work for free for the next couple of years to pay it off.

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Bugger had to drop in again today.

A few more lures for Monduran, Owner Trebles and split rings.

A few crimps and lock to make leaders.

But out of Penn 10 80LB Leader. Have you bloke bought all the stock.

Well have to go back in next week to get the Leader.

Now what do I need then.

The mates from Guyra want me to get some stuff for them too.

Guess we will be taking a big part of the shop up to Monduran with us.

Boys in shop reckon that I will have to get a bigger tackle box.

Don't know what they mean have half a dozen already.

Think I"LL have to buy a ute just to carry it.

Just in case.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.