Thread: Making your own Jig Heads for Gulp Worms

Goldcoast_Local

Making your own Jig Heads for Gulp Worms

Ok Boys,

i am getting into using the Gulp Worms and Turtlebacks, use a 1.3 gram or 1.5 gram Jig Head a few different brands.

I am pretty new to these SP business and relatively useless but learning quickly.

My question is, is it possible to attach a split shot the same size as the 1.3 or 1.5 gram size (same as the jig head size) to your line next to your hook then thread the Gulp Worm on to the hook and fish it as you would a jig head?

I have not tried this yet but why wouldnt this be just as effective as a manufactured jig head. I dont see why you need to pay such inflated prices when these could easily be rigged.

Anyone tried this and has it worked?

Might buy a bag of split shots this weekend and see how it works. Cant tell me that the wriggle of the worm would be dramatically detrimentally affected, surely not?

Just seems to be logical to me but, i am new to SP's................

Feedback please

Re: Making your own Jig Heads for Gulp Worms

i have crimped splitshots on to long shank hooks and caught flathead with them. it is hard to get everything straight & even to get them to swim right. you can buy reasonable jig heads off ebay cheaply so I don`t bother anymore.
    Work to live
    Live to fish

mate, even better, attach the split shot 50 to 70cms up the leader and just use a long shank hook, this way the weight is removed from the worm all together allowing you to present a totally weightless worm which will look a lot more realistic.

A lot can be rigged the same as a real bait on a standard rig. remember they are designed to imitate mate mate. I have use sp worms etc. rigged the same as real ones with a standard sinker and hook no worries but it depends on the style of plastic. the advantage of many of the commercial one is they keep the hook up and reduce snags.

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

You can make your own by modifying a ball sinker mould.
    Just drill or rasp file out a spot for the hook shaft and away you go.

Of course you will need to purchase the jig head type hooks, which may be pricey but you should be able to find a decent supplier at the right price.
    You say fish, I say yes please.