New Jigging Reel - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: New Jigging Reel

Re: New Jigging Reel

Mark,
    great to hear you've decided to buy the Twinpower 8000 - I can have a look at how it performs before I buy mine. I'm still trying to talk myself out of buying one, but I haven't made much headway yet. With those specs and that price, it's very hard to resist (even if I don't really need one).

Brent.

if u do a bit of research and watch some taiwanwese jigging dvd's u will notice thatvthose guys dont jig fast at all so i dont think speed is the key here.
    i also own a blue heaven and stella 10000 and find the the overhead a little more comfortable but thats personal choice.
    most overheads specialist jig reels arnet over 5:1 ratio either.

cheers matt

Matt,
    I don't jig particularly fast either. I opted to buy the 4.9 to 1 ratio Daiwa Saltist overhead myself rather than the 6.4:1 Saltist for the extra power. I use a sped-up pump and wind action which has worked very well for me - a sharp lift of the rod and wind on the down-stroke - instead of the whipping and continuous high-speed winding most people seem to use. Using the technique I use, I've found it easier to jig if I only have to turn the handle once on the down-stroke. I lost a bit of braid on a recent trip, and due to the reduced circumference of the spool I had to turn the handle more than once while jigging, which made it harder to get the rhythm right. I was glad to get more backing under the braid again.
    I suggested that Mark might want to get the 5.9 to 1 Shimano Twinpower 8000HG, thinking that this reel probably had a smaller diameter spool than the 4.9:1 Saltist and Saltiga overheads (the Saltist-sized Saltigas don't have any faster retrieve models). I just had a look, though, on the Daiwa and Shimano websites and saw that the Stella 8000FA (presumably the Stella has the same sized spool as the Japanese model Twinpower 8000HG/PG) retrieves 100cm of line each turn of the handle with a full spool, while the Saltist 4.9:1 overhead only retrieves 90.5cm.
    I originally suggested the higher ratio because I thought it might make jigging easier for Mark, not because he could achieve a higher speed retrieve, but it turns out that his 5.0:1 medium-sized spinning reel will retrieve more line per turn of the handle than my Saltist, which works fine for me. Most jigging actions I've seen, including the fast whippy one, seem to work OK, and I tried a few different actions before I settled on the one I've been using the past year and a half, but I won't be changing how I jig until I see an action that works noticeably better. I've never used a spinning reel for jigging (I use a Shimano Thunnus 6000 for offshore floatlining), so I can't claim any experience with that.
    I'll have to talk myself into buying one of those Blue Heaven reels one day, I reckon. But, so far, the Saltist has been doing OK - if I tighten the star drag all the way, I can get 26lb of drag (that's after a service by Daiwa though).

Brent.

I just bought a Twinpower 8000HG with the intention of throwing poppers with it. Its first use was on a recent jigging trip where it performed beautifully, and got the biggest fish of the day. I thought it might have been a bit fast, but it didn't seem to be. I only had it on an old Silstar Crystal tip rod I use for bottom bashing, and decided after that trip i would get a jigging rod for it. The one you are getting is the one I had singled out as well.

Simon

I will be holding out for the Penn torque the large one I read somewhere can handle 50lbs of drag! If the price is realistic these reels will be hot property at least to me anyway.

spinner

PennTorque......now that`s a jigging reel!!
    I hate to seem narrow minded, but to me an overhead reel offers much more line control for methods employed when jigging. But, if a spin reel suits you better, then go for it.
    I was once criticised for using my Penn spinfisher as a trolling reel, but caught some nice fish.As they say,"variety is the spice of life"
    but gee I`d like one of those new Penn Torques.wonder how much they are?

Reggy

Simon,

Do you know if the rotor of your Twinpower 8000HG is metal or graphite? According to the American Shimano website, the similar Sustain has an aluminium frame but a graphite sideplate and rotor.

Reggy,

MO Tackle have the Penn International Torque 300 in their latest catalogue for $599 (available end of Oct). The stated max drag is 15kg for the 300 & 200. The 100 has a max drag of 12kg.

Brent.

If you want an overhead with reel balls track down a Tiburon,my mates got one he bought in from the U.S. but like all lever drags that I've seen it binds up to a certain degree when you up the anti.

spinner

Brent
    Gee, that`s a lot of dollars, I thought they would pull more drag than that. I think the Penn would have the build for improvement on that drag figure, ....we`ll see.
    Thanks for the info`
    Reggy

Everyone forgets it's all very nice having a reel with 15,20 even 30 kg drag but i'm about 75kg dripping wet and would be hard pressed to hold much more than 10 - 12 kg drag for any sustained period let alone 20 or higher. What's more important is how smooth it is at its limit. Having said that i'll be buying a reel with as strong a drag as possible anyway

The guys in Perth are jigging modified spheros and swear by them (catching the big WA Samsons). Personally I think the retrieve rate may be a little slow.

After all the posts I've ended up with a Shimano Jigwrex Spin 6' and 24 kg and the reel will be a Daiwa Saltiga 6500 Expedition with 90lb Saltiga Braid. Now i'm flat broke and will be eating 2 minutes noodles for months.

But i'm booked in to go out off the Gold Coast on the 12 and 26 of November to see if i can stretch my arms

PlasticFantastic

That's one sweet setup Plastic,the fish will earn your jigs if they are going to take them.Quality is enjoyed long after price is forgoten......just go and play with the rod n' reel before you sit down to your plate of noodles, should sweeten them right up.

spinner

good on you Plastic, I hope you catch heaps, might need a legrope though
    Reggy

sounds like a top rig mate well done i have also got a jigwrex that i have for the stella but it is also yet to be blooded for the money tho they feel like an awesome rod
    top choice once again mate

cheers matt