Barra reels

Thread: Barra reels

Barra reels

I started a post earlier to find out whether the okuma low profile reels would be fit to tackle the mighty impoundment barra. Thanks to the replies I am convinced that they are not up to this task, just wondering on some other low profile reels that may be suitable, probably want to spend about $250

cheers mat

Re: Barra reels

I recently got a new model Shimano Curado CU200 DPV.

It's my first 'serious' baitcaster (also have a BC200).

To me, the Curado is a sensational reel. You should get it for around your budget, perhaps a bit more. I've seen it on the net for $279.

I got mine with a Shimano Raider Barra Magnum rod for $369.

Might be able to find a Daiwa CVX253 for that sort of money. I've got the CVZ253 and its an awesome reel. The CVX is not much different. Not sure if they even make them anymore, might have been replaced by the Luna.

WHITTO

G'Day Mat, I personally use the Penn Jack Erskine Signature Baitcaster for my Barra fishing, very nice reel and a very smooth drag system,comes standard with Carbontec washers,excellent value for the money, Cheers Whitto

hey mate i got a chronarch 101b and i recon its thec best bait caster iv ever owend
    zach

For that sort of money, a lot of ppl go for the shimano calcutta 200b and whack a set of carbontex drag washers in. unless uve got the dough for a chronarch or higher, id stick with the 'drum' style calcutta, bit cheaper. The low profile baitcasters under $250 wont handle 50lb braid well,althogh u might get away with 30lb. Thats just my thoughts, but ya doin the right thing, ask around, even ring some charter guys up that way nd get some opinions or have a look at the magazines.

Daiwa HRF or a threadline?

Ally_Jack

I've got the Daiwa millionaire custom snakehead 300. A bit dearer than your stated price range but worth every cent.

Daiwa HRF! I own one and it is a sweet little peice of kit. Drag might be a little weak but carbontex washers shoudl fix that. Apart from that the reel is faultless! The mag control has heaps of adjustment and easily tuned.

Hope that helped

Turley

Agree with Norm - the shimano curado 200 cu200 dpv is the go. Paid $249. No bargaining involved. Stated price on the shelf. Cheaper than Mos and I got mine that day freight free.

I go with Norm, 9 out of 10 of the barra guides in the NT use curados either the 200b or the 200bsf, but then most only fish 30lb braid off of them.
    Cheers Ian

Thanks for all the replies, I,ve decided to get a curado 300DSV intsead, Costing $350 and have been told it can handle 50lb braid for barra in the sticks, if this is incorrect or there are better prices else where please let me know Cheers mat

Rocket439

THE CURADO 300 WILL HANDLE IT BEAUTIFULLY BUT YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO GET THEM BIT CHEAPER THAN THAT. HAVE A SHOP AROUND ON THE INTERNET.

If you dont want to go the overhead way you should be able to pick up a Penn 850SS threadline that will not only handle all your Barra needs but will also handle all your saltwater applications Mackeral , Reefies etc. They have the sweetest drag and last real well with basic maintenance( inox etc ). Shop around and you will get one for your price.
    " AINT NO FUN WATIN' ROUND TO BE A MILLIONAIRE "

just had a look at ##################.com.au thay have a Penn850sss road and reel combo for $219.
    Have dealt with them before and they are great - have no affiliation with them etc etc.