Thread: jackall hooks

jackall hooks

who makes the hooks on jackall lures (i want some for my new twin vibe) i am trying to do a test between jackalls the real thing and this new twin vibe i got today. the hooks on the twin vibe are crap so i want the same hooks as the tn60s to make the test more even .
    figjam :wink:

Re: jackall hooks

Gamakatsu

Steven

Owner

Steven

ok owners or gamakatsu it is. let you ausfishers know how the new test go's

-------

Dear Scott,

We use Jackall original hook which is made by VMC and these are not sold on the market. However, I recomend you to use Owner ST-36. These are extremely sharp and strong hooks and we are putting these on some our products. Please try them first. I personally think Owner treble hooks are the best hook on the market.

Ty Ono
    Jackall Inc.

---------------------------------------

The silver ones are VMC, while the black ones are Owners.

Strewth

yeeaah the black ones are the ones i want thanks strewth, im going for a flick thesarvo so i will let you guys know how i go

hardb8

Hey Nug,
    #The stock black hooks are Owners,Good trebles.From new sticky sharp,And very capable strenght wise when Bassin.

Done some R&D today with some different hooks and learned the following :- Tried out some hooks from the Decoy stable,Size 6 (Quads not trebles) Wanted to see if they would improve my hook up rate on free falling lures,As I've been getting smashed on the drop in freespool with around a 50% stick rate.

Was previously removing the standard Owners and fitting size 6 VMC chemicaly sharpened trebles.Reasons being while the standard Owners are sharp,And strong enough,They have a thicker gauge wire which tends to tear the hook up holes in the mouth/Lips.This enables the fish to shake em out a bit easier.

The VMCs' are a finer gauge wire,Easier for the hook to penetrate,And they tend to flex as opposed to tearing,Which in my opinion actually helps me to stay connected.The draw backs are you go through more hooks due to stress on the metal,Being bent and re straightned,And I might change a hook out say three to four times in a 50 fish session.They are cheap if ya buy em in bulk,And this is the only way ta go,A 100 at a time.

I can't say the Decoys improved my rate of hook up on the drop,As it's very hard to compare this as the varibles in this situation are enormous.But from what happened today,I'm going back to the VMCs'.I will give the remaining quads I have another go to be fair,As one session is hardly a comparison.

I don't run a very hard drag either,This fact will also come into considering hook strenght combined with others fishing methods.

I haven't yet lost a Bass due to the VMCs' being staightened out past 90 degrees.Ya just know when they've had enough,And need to be changed.

The differences I mention are indeed minute,But when it means the difference between stayin connected to a 60+ Bass or losin her,I want eveything I have control over to be in my favour. #

hardb8

Fitted out.

hardb8

A closer look.

hardb8

The only way ta buy em.

hardb8

The VMC chemicaly sharpened #6 treble...For me...The best hook I've trialed so far.

owner trebles have to be the go.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

im back from fishen and have to report the twin vib got heaps of hits but no hookup > > not happy it was getting smashed by these cheeky little 25-30cm spangeld perch but not hooking up so i put on the trap on(tn50 perch killa) and bang fish on i got one nice little 28 cm spangeld. i got 4 more soon after and then the mozzys come out and i got the hell out of there (i hate mozzys >)
    so test 1 [smiley=scholar.gif] jackall tn lure 5 spangeld perch
    river2sea twin vib 0 fish (but lot of hits)

hay hardb8 do you do well with the masks and have you evea riped one or r thay tuffanuff 4 lots of bass. i will pass on the quads mate 3 hooks is fine 4 me (thay look really cool but)

hardb8

Masks are very good m8.They can be ripped though,Usually from the rear wire loop up the belly towards the front treble.Nothing a drop of super glue dosen't fix.

I've found that using the rattlers is good for finding fish,And when you find a school,Switch to a Mask.

The quads are pretty good but I'm goin back to the VMC trebles.Always lookin for the edge,So always tryin somethin different.