Thread: Cleveland Point Report May 27th

Cleveland Point Report May 27th

Fished Cleveland Point last night on the high with the full moon. Didn't get a single bite for 2.5 hours on the run-up. Then, just as I was thinking of packing it in the drag on one of my rods started screaming and, after a short tussle, I landed a 40cm Bream. While I was unhooking that one, my other rod went off and I landed a nice 35cm Bream.
    For the next hour or so I was kept pretty busy and ended up with 6 Bream over 30cm and a nice Whiting just over 30cm. I also lost 3 monsters that got me tied up around the rocks.
    Interesting evening........
    The other guys there weren't catching anything - guess you can be lucky.
    I had been thinking about buying a boat, but went out with a mate on Sunday at dawn on a rising tide around Peel and only caught 2 decent Tusk Fish and a Leatherjacket between 4 of us over 5 hours.
    I reckon I might stick with land-based fishing for the moment.

adriancorrea

Re: Cleveland Point Report May 27th

At the moment there beggsy, you might aswell stay with land based fishing. We were out there till 7am this morning and caught about 30-40 fish and only had one keeper
    Heaps of undersized squrie, Which hopefully will improve as the winter sets in.
    Had two decent strikes on my rod and lost them both. snagged me both times
    Only got two grinners though this trip
    It was good to put a face to the name.

Tight lines
    Adrian

Re: Cleveland Point Report May 27th

Hey,

Good to hear from you Adrian. Hadn't seen a report - thought you'd drowned. Bummer about the fish (or lack of).

You haven't done much for my case for getting a boat.