Thread: Mud Island Night Trip 21st June

aquarius

Mud Island Night Trip 21st June

Hi Folks ,Two mates and myself decided we would have a night fish for snapper around Mud Island....We left Raby Bay boat ramp in the new Cruise Craft outsider and headed for horseshoe Bay on the south side of peel island to try to gather up some live bait ....Not much luck with the bait net there so we then continued on our way to mud.....Arrived there at 2 pm and in no time we were catching just under legal size squire with a few keepers amoungst them.....The bay was like glass with not a breath of wind.
    Around dusk the bite slowed down so we just rested for awhile with a couple of beers and a sandwich and watched the beaut sunset.
    Four hours past with only a couple squire caught but we did manage a dozen or so nice tailor....The tide was slowing down as the midnight low approached when suddenly my bait runner screemed....i snapped it into gear and the fight began....a few minutes later a 2 kilo snappery squire was landed......ten minutes went by before i landed another squire of just under one kilo......Both fish were caught on fresh tailor fillets....Rig used was 6 kilo main line with a 10 kilo trace..pea sinker on top of 2 ganged number 4 hooks
    Day break was getting closer so we rigged up ready for what we thought could be a big snapper session.....No snapper but plenty of squire.....ended up with 10 nice fish between three guys...not a bad effort i reckon considering the Heaps of boats all around #making noise with anchor chains etc....Must thank Lucky Phill for steering us in the right direction and to Webby for some tips that helped us catch a feed....many thanks guys...I can't wait to go back there and have another go at that elusive snapper...2 kilo is a start but i'm after the 6 kilo monster's!!
    Cheers #Brent

Re: Mud Island Night Trip 22nd June

Just reading your post Brent, and it heads Mud Island 22 June. Buuga me dead, it's the 22nd today. Must have been yesterday ( 21st ). ???

No matter, good fishing anyway. You didn't mention and Grinners, hope that's right and the rotters have nicked off from the bay due to the cold weather. >

I'll be popping over there meself today, later on. Unsure wether to chase Bream or Squire ( maybe Snapper ). All depends on the breeze in my little tinnie. ???

The Tailor bait was a good move, fresh is always best. Next time ( if you didn't already ), use 2 x 6/0 hooks and a whole side of Tailor ( fillet ). Big bait = Big Fish.

Report tomorrow guys. 8) 8) 8)

aquarius

Re: Mud Island Night Trip 21st June

Thanks for that tip on the tailor fillet Phill....I will give that a shot next trip...Sorry mate ive just made a correction to the date....you know how it is (no sleep since thursday night)
    Hope you have a great night out at mud...just leave some of the bigger snapper for me to catch!!
    Cheers Brent
    ps...only 1 Grinner,2 reef sharks and 2 giant rays as the by catch.
    Check out this sunset over Mud.

Aquarius,Nice fish,great sunset,where you that far out from the island fishing?not that there is anything wrong with that by the look of your fish how deep?,I fish in pretty close & no more than 3/4 metres,mostly round the northeast corner,Liked luckies point tho'big bait bigger fish,tried whole occies last trip but the grinners thought they were tops & only ended up with a couple of pan size squire on whole mullet fillets,boat traffic & people noise was a big turnoff,methinks weeknights would be a whole lot better.Cheers Touchy.

aquarius

Hi Touchy....Mate we were on a ledge in 10 or so metres....bottom structure unreal.....Kept pulling up a coral garden.....must be a fishes paradise down there!!.
    Not too sure how far we were from the island as this was my first trip to the eastern side of Mud.
    Now that my mate has a new cruise craft 625 we can do a bit more exploring further up in the bay....my boat is not suitable for rough weather....mainly stay around the Wello area.
    We noticed on the sounder last night that quite a few fish were holding in mid water.....dropped a line over the side then wound up half way ....These fish turned out to be tailor. # boy the squire scoffed the fresh tailor baits down in a hurry....like they say (fresh is best)
    Yes mate you are spot on about the boat traffic on weekends...its like Queen street mall on a busy night over at mud....I,m lucky in some ways that i can get out on a friday night before the big rush starts...working Sundays is the only bad thing!!
    Hope you get onto a patch of good fish next time you visit Mud.
    Cheers #Brent

adriancorrea

Well done there brent
    sounds like you had a good trip.
    I have the same problem as you my boat isnt too good in rough weather,
    Need a bigger one
    Tried tailor bait the other night myself and was pretty impressed so Im looking forward to trying it out at peel.
    Must have been a great sight that sunset?
    Good to see that you got a good size snapper and keep those fingers crossed for the big ones

Tight lines
    Adrian

aquarius

Hi Adrian...Yes mate that picture of your boat at the bottom of the page does look a bit small for the bay!! (only joking)..wish i had a heap of money to buy a new boat.
    My mates got a list of people as long as his arm...all want to go out with him for a fishing trip...can't say i blame them...its a nice boat.
    Yes that fresh tailor is a winner....get out there mate and catch yourself a big one!!
    Cheers Brent