Pin Trip 24th July

Thread: Pin Trip 24th July

Pin Trip 24th July

Took the Defecator out yesterday with Araby Dog. Put in at Cabbage Tree Point at 4am and headed for Tiger Mullet Channel. Burleighed up and fished the last 2 hours of the run in tide.
    Araby Dog smashed two 55cm plus flathead and I picked up a couple of Bream (28 and 32cm). Went to Kalinga Banks and the Pig Styes for the run out, picked up a few more Bream there but the bytes were few and far between compared to a fourtnight ago, must have been something to do with the current. Mayby someone has a theory on why the fish were'nt on the chew. Anyway beats been at work.

Dominator

aquarius

Re: Pin Trip 24th July

Dominator i reckon a strong current is no good for a successful fishing session....My theory is that the fish is spending time just trying to keep out of the strong tidal flow....why would you feed at this time when you are using up energy avoiding the fast flowing water!!
    Find a spot away from the current or fish half an hour either side of the high or low tides.
    I know from past experience that we just about always come home with a good feed when the tides are running slow.
    One other trick you could try in fast current is to use a large ball sinker and a two or three metre trace.
    It works for me so i hope it works for you to.
    Cheers Brent

Brent, Thanks for the tip matee.

Do you fish the Pin area at all?

If so maby you could give me a tip on where to fish if the current is running fast. Also do you think that the moon could have had something to do with why the fish were'nt on the chew.

Dominator.

Dominator, Brent is quite correct with his theory of fish not being too happy in a strong current. Basically, you should remember that fish are basically a lazy bunch with their prime concerns being to (1) not get eaten by something bigger, (2) to eat as much as they can and (3) to expend as little effort as possible in doing the latter two things.

This means that they dont want to be swimming against a strong current if possible, hence at the Pin you are best to look for (1) areas which do not have strong tidal flow such as some of the smaller creeks away from the main channel leading to the bar and (2) presence of snags or other features such as rocks which fish can shelter behind (also good spots to avoid predators).

Also with the moon phase, the old saying "moon by day fish by day, moon by night fish by night" is a valid one. Full moon at the moment so night fishing should be better than daylight hours.

hope this helps,

Graeme

aquarius

Hello again Dominator...Sorry i can't really help you out with good fishing spots around the Pin but im sure some of the other guys can.
    I usually fish in Moreton Bay or down the Gold Coast Broadwater area.

Cheers Brent

Ausfish Gold Member

Dominator,
    Nugget shared some good spots in I think it was last issue of BushnBeach. Cobby Passage might be worth a try or try drifting with the tides for flathead. There are a few holes that I've sounded out right through the passage between Eden and Short Island that have creeks/drains run into them. For me I've found the pin to run hot and cold but I think those more in the know usually get a good feed there. I'll get there too mate.
    Cheers Luke

gruntahunter

O>K Dominator I,m game .....what is andefecator ,i know its ur boat but what else matey ???

Grunta, the reason my boat is named the "Defecator" is quite simple. Upon buying the boat last July my brother in law(Araby Dog) bought me a sticker that reads "Defecation Eventuates" which translates to s@!* happens. The other reason is that whilst on board Araby has very frequent bowel movements on the boat boat involving a bucket.

I hope that cleared up any confusion in regards to the name of my boat matee.

Dominator

Hey Come on Man >

When ya gotta go Ya gotta go ...you know what I mean ???