-
Noosa Reef Bar
The Dominator and I heard of this secret spot at Noosa so we headed that way for an exploratory trip on Saturday night.
Hit the reef bar at 10pm and fired up our BG sounder (new on the market). Looked very very promising with plenty of nice bottoms and a heaps of peaks. We marked this spot for future reference if we couldn't get any bites tonight.
We decided to anchor up right on top of the tables and threw some burley out. The action was fast and furious with plenty of juvenile squire about and the odd grinner. The tide turned for us at about 1am when the BG sounder went rank. Opportunities to hook up where all around, we were in danger of being busted of by some big knobs, however our tackle and playing skills saw us through this dangerous period until the knobs moved off for easier targets?
This didn't deter the juvenile squire who kept hitting our baits even when we gave up actively trying to land them. Dom and me decided on trying for more mature, sweeter or game species.
We were using a mixture of bait; the best results were from the double bourbons however the sambuca shots produced interest from the bigger game species hanging around the bar region. We were successful and landed a couple of gropers. All we had to do was to work out how to get them back to the ramp to knock a couple of sweet fillets off em without being cought by the DPI and spoiling the action.
The trip back to the ramp was an eventful one. The bar crossing was smooth enough in the new Haines Hunter Maxicab but we hit a snag about 5 minutes from the ramp. We turned the BG sounder on and discovered the effects of the bait and burley consumed thru the night to be wearing off on me and Dom. We both realised that these greedy gropers should be tagged and released back to the wild for some other fortunate fishos to pick up.
Last we saw of this pair was a couple of tails staggering off into off into the darkness never to be seen by us again.
-
Re: Noosa Reef Bar
Sam, I think you've finally cracked son. pmsl.
-
Ausfish Addict
shame, shame, shame...was good reading tho..ROFLMAO...
However if you were a fisherperson and the weather was off don't you think it would be better to fish your way back to where you come from...geez you could have missed out on some decent fish what a waste
-
Hey Grunta how ya going?
Yeh me and Dom have cracked, it's been a long time between F/trips.
If you want the GPS marks we did save them...LOL . But we did end up in some bar up in Noosa and did get run amok....we'd rather be fishing 'cause we get into less strife and don't lose a whole day in recovery..LOL
-
Ausfish Gold Member
hey i heard that spot was full of grunters, and that the parasite infestions were bad.
-
Hey Landy How are ya?
Your right about some of that but fortunatly me and Dom don't do the Rex Hunt thing with the species in mention don't want the DPI nicking us...unless they are of legal size and are a healthy looking specimen. Spot X up there mate and it's on for young and old when you use the special "BG sounder" Dom and I have developed over the years of hunting in this patch. It's as easy as drifting over Gold Bank and picking up a feed of whiting...lucky there's no bag limit..LOL
-
I think I have the same gps mark but it leads me to the Arana Leagues club , good water hole .(have seen a few grunters in there to .lol.
-
Your a Crazy Guy Sam, hope you haven't been spending too much time around Mobile phones or those towers that leach out the radiation ??
Mate a very entertaining post and puts a different slant on 'getting on the grog and chasing women around the Bar'.
What's a 'BG Sounder' ?
Mate, I can give you the 'Marks' for a spot I stumbled on in the Valley a few months ago. Must warn you though, Where your Waders to keep out the bad elements and dark sunnies might also be appropriate. Personaly, I would just drift over it and fish somewhere else !!!!
Craig.
-
Craigie, another name for the BG Sounder is "Beer Goggles". I am sure you have heard about them before.
And by the way its not fair to blame Sams craziness on mobile phone towers. His mental state rapidly deteriorates when we don't go fishing enough..........hence this post.
-
G'day Dominator,
'Beer Gogles' !!!! What a wonderfull invention they are, how would we be without the drinkers version of 'Rose coloured Glases'
Thanks mate, now I'm on the same patch of reef !!!!
It's just as well we all discovered Fishing, keep us away from paded cells and Frontal Labotomies a bit longer than some ?
See you and Araby-Dog on Gold Bank this summer, 'Elbow Slappers ' for everyone !!!!!
Craig.
-
Ahh haa haa haa you guys are funny woof!
Dom ya gotta have a metal state to deteriorate away in the first place. Yours' and mine have well and truly been pickled with vast quantaties of lunatic soup and Hiddy Piddy!!
Ya see guys people often say to me and Dom that we have a sickness but we both know it's a way of life.
But seriously we went up to pergian beach for a night out with the family and went to this place called Noosa Reef Bar. Straight up we noticed that the punters were a few years younger than us (some even had pubes) hence the juvenile squire remark and it just went down hill from there.
Me and Dom killed them on the pool tables. I think we only paid for 2 games all night and at $3 a game (4 wins in a row meant a double burbon each).
Yeah, we got smashed up good and hard and then just went rank as I said. Good night 'sept for the "wanna be a wallaby" losing the match against the boks but I to ga ga by then to care.
Ahh haa haa haa you guys are funny woof!
Dom ya gotta have a metal state to deteriorate away in the first place. Yours' and mine have well and truly been pickled with vast quantaties of lunatic soup and Hiddy Piddy!!
Ya see guys people often say to me and Dom that we have a sickness but we both know it's a way of life.
But seriously we went up to pergian beach for a night out with the family and went to this place called Noosa Reef Bar. Straight up we noticed that the punters were a few years younger than us (some even had pubes) hence the juvenile squire remark and it just went down hill from there.
Me and Dom killed them on the pool tables. I think we only paid for 2 games all night and at $3 a game (4 wins in a row meant a double burbon each).
Yeah, we got smashed up good and hard and then just went rank as I said. Good night 'sept for the "wanna be a wallaby" losing the match against the boks but I to ga ga by then to care.
Craigy, I'll tell you i'm all for smashing the elbow slappers this season on gold banks and if i do keep a look out for me mate cause it won't be my elbow i'll be slapping it'll be something else!!!LOL
-
Ausfish Addict
sounds like you are interested in keeping undersize catch eh
-
-
what bait did you use Sam?...... jail bait maybe hey!
-