Thread: Camping at Sommerset

Camping at Sommerset

Hi all I was visiting Sommerset Dam Last Saturday Just for a picnic.
    And what a supprise when I read the notice $20.00 Per night for camping .$15.00 aweek to put your Boat on the water.
    Thats one hundred persent increase in two years.Oh pluss fishing Permit , < Buy it at post office before you leave home .>
    Also there is No Kiose there now so bring everything that you need Like ice Bread Snacks ect,.
    And the water level is very low ,There are Islands there now that were 20 feet under water twelve month ago.
    So if your Planing a holiday Take your money with you. I gess that's Inflation aey LOL LOL
    Happy Days Harrya

gruntahunter

Re: Camping at Sommerset

is that $20 a night each person or for the site I hope?

Harry,

If there's no kiosk now where do you get your boating permit from ?

I was thinking of heading up in a couple of weeks , just for the day.

Do we need to organise it before arriving at the dam now, but from who?

Is the kiosk close just temporary or a permanent thing?

Glen
    Cheers Glen,

One Life, What will you catch next!

Hi Seqfisho
    .With regard to Kiose I dont know about that , Just that it is not where it used to be anymore.The $20.00 per night for up to 6 persons
    I would think.The boating premit you would pay the camping Ranger
    Maybe you should check with the Rangers by phone I dont know the number.
    Happy Days
    Harrya

The_Walrus

I suppose $15 for the week isn't too bad but if your'e there for the day it's also $15 !!!

Personally, I'd rather drive to Boondooma for a weekend in the fresh.

At $20 a night per vehicle to camp I could see why the place wasn't packed out during these school holidays, everybody is probably going down the coast and paying not much more. I don't think I will be camping up there anymore, I'll stick to day trips.

Murray

I might be a bit out of place here but I reckon that the fees for camping at Kirkleigh as well as the camping areas at Lumley Hill and Captain Logan at Wivenhoe Dam are all pretty good.

Sure you might find something cheaper at the coast or in a crowded caravan park but look at your surroundings.

I have camped at all of them and have never been crowded out. The amenities are good and regularly cleaned. There is heaps of room for a game with the family and for the kids to safely run around. The bird and animal life is fantastic and you can generally put a fish on the menu.

Not only that I can have a fire and cook a decent camp oven meal.

The kiosk generally only sold junk food anyway and lets face it a bit of preparation before you go should see you stocked with supplies for your trip.

You get what you pay for and the camping areas around the Brisbane Valley Dams are spot on in my opinion.

Derek

In reply to Derek Bullock
    All I can say Is thank"s It's only your Opinion .But then maybe you can afford to pay these prices.I carnt! And I dont have to agree with you .

The water corp forced the kiosk to move up to the gate in a bid to make them collect the camping/boating fees. Was only supposed to be closed for a month while moving but the owner thought the new location was unworkable & threw in the towel.
    I personally agree with them, the old location was great.
    Even if someone else re-opens at the gate I doubt I'll buy anything from it. I used to put in at the Spit & simply pull up the bank at Kirkleagh for lunch. I could see the boat from there & make sure nothing got touched. Now there's no way I'm going to leave $50 k worth of boat + fishing gear on its lonesome while walkin right up to the gate.

A move that appears to have back fired on SEQWCorp. Now they have to pay rangers for longer hours to issue permits that the previous kiosk did for them.

The stocking group are running extra food for the Clark Kirkleagh Klassic (October 12 & 13) to cover the void.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

The_Walrus

Can't say I blame the kiosk owner.

It's a long walk to the gate from the water and most camp sites.

DeeGee

The $20 camping fee per VEHICLE may not be so bad for a family or a fishing party of for, and is good value for five or six in the one car.
    But for a single person it's a rip off. By the time you pay the camping, the boating and the fishing fees it's an expensive weekend. (I wonder what they would charge if 7 or 8 people turned up in a Tarago or similar)

I Just The Powers That be Are getting More And More Hungry With Little Or No Improvements for Years.
    O.K. Charge Us A fee But Give Us Some Value To Offst The Added Charges.& Don't go Crook About The Crackers Eh Fitzy.
    Flynny

Quote Originally Posted by Flynny
    & Don't go Crook About The Crackers Eh Fitzy.
    Flynny
    hahahahahahahahahaha
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au