PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Green Island Monday - Page 2
gday stevedemon have you thought they could be cobia they turn up bout this time of year and they have fine teeth that can scale live bait and not mark them as sharks would do.hope you get back out there soon and find out what they were.cheers scott
its great to see someone onto something big and mean in the bay, I was out with a mate on friday 15/11 and didnt even manage a decent run apart from a good lipper, hopefully next time you guys will land and photo the culprits, best of luck, cheers sharkbait....
I have to agree with mack talking from experience, probably small hammers, my bro has caught cobia to 55lb out the back o green on 50lb hand line, but they crush baits, if it was mack the baits would be cut in half or no bait all, jew on the other hand do scale and can leave teeth marks, however the bait is usually like jelly and cannot be returned to the sea, (see the photos on my web page) have a person beside me right now that agrees cause he mainly only fishes for jew, but rarely show at the back of green, yep i reckon sharks, always plenty of them out the back of green, not to mention the big spotted rays that look like an oversized shovel nose. but you get that .
joe.
What ever they were it was just great to finally have a decent morning of fishing.
Planning on going back out there monday arvo to see if we can boat one of these critters and solve the mystery.
Would be good adrian, weather is looking excellent for it. bit hard on the bod in shallow water like that tho eh LOL, probably pay to use a short anchor rope with a bouy, get a run throw it over the side and follow, tire the bloody things out before they tire you out. it always amazes me the amount of money we pour into rods and reels and someone always does better with a hand line ??? go figure. anyway best of luck on monday, i will be thinking of you while i am at work
cheers.