Yep, got the big rig ( ReBait ) onto the water Friday.
Across the bay at 46k's and a smallish 1+ mtr of swell/chop.
Poked the nose around Combi and it looked OK.
Found some nice dropoffs and schools at Hutchies. Set the anchor and didn't the current perform like a second lawnmower.
E/NE @ 10...then 15...then a little bit more. Laying side onto the swell and wind wasn't ideal.
Only hit came just before I was about to pull the pin. TLD15 with 50lb Braid, whole Yakka. Screaming.
300yds of braid disappeared before I could get the gimble belt on, then 100 meters of backing mono went out. Stopped the bugga. Now What ?
Thighs Lactating, arms hurting, boat rocking, wind blowing and still about 300+ meters of line out. It was big and it was bad. Felt the line hit the bottom structure. PING !
Samson or Ambo I suggest.
NOW the tricky part, gettin back to The Curtin. Pitch black, crossed the Combi point bar, not too bad.
Anchored just off the Melbourne and boated Squire, Maori Cod, Trevally, Morwong. Bedded down at 2am, up at 4 and a couple more fish. Bay was flatter than a 3 day old beer.
Lured some Bonito / Mack Tuna. Chased the Yakka.....DOH ! nowhere to be found. Drifted the beacons for Spotties ( ring netters must have got them all Yesterday ).
Sat behind Mud, cleaned fish, had breakie etc.
Overall ( put in at Manly ), travelled 140.5 kilometers. Fuel consuption was ? at the fuel gauge I reckon around 80 litres, but will check that in the next couple of days.
The Big Honda did well. Quiet as a mouse at idle and no start probs. A tad noisey at 5000rpm, but travelled at 4000rpm mostly.
All went according to plan, except for the big Sweeties I was targeting at Hutchies.
Might even post a pick of the Big Girl soon.