Thread: Big Rig  R&D

Big Rig  R&D

Yep, got the big rig ( ReBait ) onto the water Friday.

Across the bay at 46k's and a smallish 1+ mtr of swell/chop.

Poked the nose around Combi and it looked OK.

Found some nice dropoffs and schools at Hutchies. Set the anchor and didn't the current perform like a second lawnmower.

E/NE @ 10...then 15...then a little bit more. Laying side onto the swell and wind wasn't ideal.

Only hit came just before I was about to pull the pin. TLD15 with 50lb Braid, whole Yakka. Screaming.

300yds of braid disappeared before I could get the gimble belt on, then 100 meters of backing mono went out. Stopped the bugga. Now What ?

Thighs Lactating, arms hurting, boat rocking, wind blowing and still about 300+ meters of line out. It was big and it was bad. Felt the line hit the bottom structure. PING !

Samson or Ambo I suggest.

NOW the tricky part, gettin back to The Curtin. Pitch black, crossed the Combi point bar, not too bad.

Anchored just off the Melbourne and boated Squire, Maori Cod, Trevally, Morwong. Bedded down at 2am, up at 4 and a couple more fish. Bay was flatter than a 3 day old beer.

Lured some Bonito / Mack Tuna. Chased the Yakka.....DOH ! nowhere to be found. Drifted the beacons for Spotties ( ring netters must have got them all Yesterday ).

Sat behind Mud, cleaned fish, had breakie etc.

Overall ( put in at Manly ), travelled 140.5 kilometers. Fuel consuption was ? at the fuel gauge I reckon around 80 litres, but will check that in the next couple of days.

The Big Honda did well. Quiet as a mouse at idle and no start probs. A tad noisey at 5000rpm, but travelled at 4000rpm mostly.

All went according to plan, except for the big Sweeties I was targeting at Hutchies.

Might even post a pick of the Big Girl soon.

Ausfish Addict

Re: Big Rig #R&D

Hey phil sounds like a phun weekend eh
    Thighs Lactating, arms hurting
    maybe someone might need to lose some midriff, eh..or have the gimbal on first ROFLMAO..always another day. my bro hit the 42s today did quite well bagged out really quick, weather permitting the 52s tomorrow
    cheers.

Phil,

Now I was just wondering what the roster was for trips out. Will you be posting the list here or notify each person individually !!!!!

Sounds like pretty good fuel consumption. Anyone got a spare 90hp 4 stroke for my haines??.

But for all the extra distance it seems the fishing wasn't that much better on the other side. Please don't tell my other half that. I've been promising her that if I had a bigger boat and could travel further then I'd catch more fish.

Whatever you do don't let the secret out.

Bugman

The bigger the boat, the more it costs per fish. It's running at about $90/kilo at the moment.

Not much cheaper than a fish and chip shop really

R & D done Brett, you are in the line.....................ever been to Sizzler at 6.30pm ???

Just have to do the fine tuning on her, and she's in full offshore mode !

Early December should see us starting to put some hours on her.

Hey Phill, how is that downrigger of yours shaping up, your gonna have to get used to the pain I'm afraid

Have you used any of the stand up belts, got a blackmagic myself its good being able to clip the harness lugs to the reel, Those Samsons are all yours mate

The downrigger is on the go. am getting the holes drilled and eyes fitted today.

Made the bomb today. and that's another story. ???

I just tend to use the standard gimble belt ( the hard plastic blue models ).

I try to let the rod do the work, but every now and again, some freighttrain will put the hurt on me.

Samson or Ambos....BRING IT ON !!!

They are good value those blue ones, dynatec right, you obviously don't get queezy offshore Phill, all that phisical exursion and looking down into the depths not at the horizon can have me poking faces at the water on rough days.