Mission Pt - Pumicstone Passage 30/11/02

Thread: Mission Pt - Pumicstone Passage 30/11/02

Mission Pt - Pumicstone Passage 30/11/02

Had a good weekend camping up at Mission Pt. Great spot if any Brisvegas boaties are looking for a weekend away - only accessible by boat which seems to keep the numbers down.

Managed to get quite a few Bream along the passage and a few nice whiting near the sand bank across from the point (thanks for the tip Lachie!!). Seems like the Muddies have finally started too so we brought a good feed of them home as well.

All in all a good weekend. Time to start planning the next trip. From the sound of the reports from Wello, Saturday morning may find me out there (White 16' Custom Craft tinnie with blue stripes).

Smerl

Re: Mission Pt - Pumicstone Passage 30/11/02

Good to see you had some succees up there smerl. That sandbank ususally turns up with the goods for us in the right weather. What was the weater like - i think a SE change came thru on late sat and that usually brings the whitting on in that particular spot.

Cheers, Lachie

gruntahunter

hi Smerle was the weed a problem or was it gone mate?
    Were the muddies in the channel or up further in the creeks and did you crab at night or get them during the day? 8)

Gruntahunter,

The weed all seemed to be gone. The only time we picked up a bit on the crab pots was after the storm on Saturday arvo. The muddies that we picked up were in the creeks. Best spot we found was about 1/2 km up Glasshouse Mountain Creek. Plenty of sandies on the sand banks near Mission Point.

Simon