Thread: Wello 6 Dec

Wello 6 Dec

Hi All
    Me and the "Dart" fished Wello (more like Ormiston) last night and again this morning. I had pillies and squid plus live mullet around the 25 cm mark.
    The livies got absolutely smashed and I was unable to boat a fish. Nearly got spooled once - I started seeing the gold of the spool so really tightened up the drag and line parted at the swivel. Was using 17lb vanish as a trace but kept getting bitten off between the first and second hook. I would wind in the head part (about half)of the mullet and the front hook only.

Couple of times the line just parted, but the fish were running "straight" not around snags like grassies etc do - so might have to replace the line. Didn't think the line was too old, but it was under a lot of pressure at the time.

On the dead bait, caught the usual types of vermin and some under size stuff.

On the Friday morning much the same sort of pattern, although I went up to a 30lb trace. Tried using a three hook gang but it wasn't touched and tended to kill the livies fairly quickly. I have never used wire, but might have to setup my two hook rig with it.

Came home empty handed - but had a really exciting time. Love that scream of the reel and the power of a big fish. Next time I catch that sort of bait I might get the Alvey surf reel (and rod) #out and see how that setup performs.

(ps....MACK1, you should a come with me - would have given your mackeral gear a workout........)

Good luck on the weekend you all.

Argo.

aquarius

Re: Wello 6 Dec

Giday Phill......mate i reckon you had sharks on your rig last night...must have been big ones!!
    I,m heading out in the morning to try my luck...the barometer is rising but it may be a bit choppy as the wind is forecast to be 20 knots tonight and 15 latter on saturday morning....hope they are right.
    Mate in my view the early morning is better fishing around the wello area....ive fished there several times at night and only caught vermon.
    Will post a report saturday arvo.
    Cheers Brent.

adriancorrea

Well done there argo 8)
    Looks like you had abit of fun out there.
    There sure isnt much sweetlip and squire out there unless you want to count the kindergarten fish
    Did you get a look at any of the fish or you just couldnt turn them???
    Might have been what we got hit by out at Green, Me's starting to think they were sharks after last sunday and your report.
    Im thinking of heading out that way on sunday morning early,
    Depending on the weather.
    Where did you get the livies??? ???

Snappyone,

Closest I got to fish was about 50 metres.

Caught the mullet cast-netting off a mate's pontoon in Raby Bay. They tend to hang around the pontoons in the canals particularly at night.

Phil