Wello Report 21-12-02

Thread: Wello Report 21-12-02

aquarius

Wello Report 21-12-02

Hello people....Well the forecast for this morning was a real downer.....Jack and i headed off to Raby Bay ramp at 4am and half way there the heavens opened....talk about heavy showers...The boat ramp was quiet with all the boaties waiting for the rain to ease.
    We decided to give Peel island a miss today and headed for our familiar haunt(wello).
    We had ideas of gathering live rock crabs and then trying our luck for parrot along the drop offs around peel.
    By the time we arrived at Wello the rain had slowed to a drizzle so Jack and i set about finding these so called rock crabs...it wasn't long before we had a dozen in our bucket...warning these little critters have a mean bite!!!!!!!
    Conditions at Wello were 15 to 20 knots from the south making the fishing tough.......Jack was the first to do battle with a monster before the fish severed the line and it was all over red rover.........We had hits throughout the morning but the tide and current were hard to contend with.
    We caught heaps of 28cm squire and sweetlip but nothing to bring home for a feed.......Also had a float with a pilly on but 1 small shark was just tooooo smart and managed to snare the pilly without getting hooked.
    showers and more showers until midday when the sun showed itself.
    Oh well we had some fun but next trip we are determined to get ourselves a feed of those sweet eating parrot from around Peel.
    To those people venturing out tomorrow hope you have a better day weather wise and may your lines scream often.
    Cheers Brent
    ps.Don't let Jack put the burley pot out!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Wello Report 21-12-02

I was bitterly dissapointed I couldn't go today untill I woke up this morning

Going tomorrow but Better luck on em next time, Has jack been refining his berley methods

aquarius

Rob...Lets just say the burley pot went missing..LOL

adriancorrea

So what your saying Brent is
    Dont let Jack burley or use your overhead LOL

Bad luck there on the weather,
    But why should you be fishing while Im working lol

Tight Lines
    Adrian

aquarius

Yes Adrian but i know the solution from now on we just tie every thing that goes into the water to him!!
    This way if he goes in the water we still get our gear back..he he he or maybe the sharks might want there revenge
    Cheers Brent

Don't feel too bad about your burley pot, I had an ugly stick and baitrunner pulled in last night at wello - the gear was worth 350 bucks and only 2 months old - harsh penalty for not setting the drag properly.

aquarius

Gee Sharkbait that sure was bad luck mate.......I bet if the divers went down around Wello they would come up with all sorts of goods.......must be anchors, crab pots, fishing rods etc etc.
    I know how you feel i had my ugly stick and reel go overboard in the Logan river some years back.......same as you foregot to set the drag!!
    I also had 3 rods and reels stolen from a boat ramp a few years ago!!! >
    I hope Santa brings you a replacement rod and reel.
    If only all people were honest.
    Did you catch any fish last night?
    Cheers Brent

adriancorrea

Unlucky there Sharkbait.
    Ill let you know if I hook onto a rod and reel lol
    Bet you santa brings a new one
    So did you catch anything??? ???

Tight Lines
    Adrian

Thanks fellas. I thought seriously about jumping in after it hey. We spent about 2 hrs at the back of green for one squire and only decided to stop at wello on the way in at the last minute, I wish now I hadn't I can tell you! The fish were on the bite though and we got about 10 undersize sweetlip and two at 33 and 35 cm in the 45min or so before I lost the rod and reel. Everything else aside it was a great night to be on the water as most of the wind and chop died off around 7 - 7.30pm, when we came in at about 9pm it was practically flat, open throttle the whole way back. We spoke to a guy at the ramp who had been in the shallows at wello all afternoon into the night and he had some nice sweetlip and a snappery squire. Aquarius, bummer about the stolen rods and reels, it's truly a sad state of affairs when you can't turn your back for five min. Anyone else who regularly launches from wello might have noticed the increased police presence down there in the last month or so, I regularly come back or launch just after dark and have seen police searching the hoons cars and doing patrols about 7 or 8 times lately. I'm yet to be hassled by them although I wouldnt mind too much as there presence where I leave my truck and trailer is welcome..

Hi Brent
    I went off Wello Sunday Morning and there was alot of unsized lippers about, I did managed to bag 3 at 35cm and a nice flathead at 60cm.
    I was busted up on more than one occasion though!!!!!
    Just before I left my possie, I watched to guys up anchor and chase a fish they had hooked.
    I followed them and asked if they had seen what it was, they said in jest it was a big whiting.
    Well I watched these fisherman for half an hour fight this beast from the deep and it still did'nt look like it was anywhere near finished.
    If any body knows how they went I would be intrested to know???
    Happy Xmas
    Ausfishers
    Wishey
    Bush N Beach Fishing Magazine
    4BC 1116
    "BERKLEY" Catch More Fish
    Fish Head Fishing Tackle

maybe they hooked onto my ugly stik...