Camping at the Pin

Thread: Camping at the Pin

Camping at the Pin

The Camping trip had a bit of a shaky start - at the ramp Friday night the starter motor woudn't >, and after checking the electrics (everything else ok) Decided it must be the little solenoid thing on the evinrude 70hp. Got out the rope and on the third pull the motor fired up and we went anyway. Not the best for safety having to pull start but it worked fine all weekend.

Going in Friday night means you can hit the beach early in the morning and that is what we did. Before sunup we were using anchovies on 1/0 gangs. We got a nice feed of tailor in the sesssion so breakfast was taken care of. After that we passed the time throwing tailor gut and strips out in front of the camp for a catch of Flathead, Bream and Moses Perch on really light gear.

Hit the beach in the afternoon from about four to seven and on pillies, got more nice Tailor, then around dusk close in hooked up an 85cm Shovelnose which had the heart racing for a little while. I would have liked to keep it for the feed but released it as I wasn't sure how well the fillets would have lasted in the esky. Then to Finish off the session Lindy got a 50cm Greenback that is her best tailor to date. Great Fishing, Great Fun.

Incidentally, for about 300 metres of beach we found juvenile Pippies in their tens upon tens of thousands. If you looked into the water running off the beach you could see thousands of their little filters level with the sand as they were feeding. As you walked along fifty to a hundred at a step were released from the sand - I have never seen them in such numbers. Being so small they would be easy pickings for fish to eat - I wondered at the time if the constant stream of pippies down the beach was acting like burley, perhaps attracting the bottom feeders (shovelnose) to the area. Would be interested if anyone has thoughts on pippies as burley?

This morning we hit the beach again with some Pillies and Anchovies (after two days in the esky the bait was getting a bit sus ) and after soaking pillies for about an hour, switched to anchovies with immediate success. A nice tailor about 42cm was in the bucket. Three more hookups followed - all lost due I think to the hooks in the gangs we use on the anchovies being too small. Went back to pillies and safely landed the next two. Incidentally, we had been joined on the beach by about eight other anglers, all seemed to be using pillies and yet we were the only ones landing fish - no idea why but not complaining It was hard not to feel a little smug

All in all a great weekend, three really good beach sessions and some nice play fishing in between. Lindy got her personal record Tailor and I caught my biggest Shovelnose to date so you could say we were very happy indeed. We got a really good campsite too, so except for the starter motor, we had an absolute ripper. What a fantastic place. The only complaint I have is that we should have stayed a week instead of a weekend!

Steve.

Re: Camping at the Pin

The Shovelnose - really blue colour, strong fish.

You are right the pin is a great area. Enjoyed your post and pics.

I have caught plenty of shovelnosed sharks but never considered keeping one to eat. I take it that you have. What are they like.

Argo

Hi Argo,

Thanks mate, Shovelnose are what you get when you order Flake from the fish and chips store. When you prepare it yourself, the white sweet flesh is better than Flathead IMHO.

They have tough skin, but skinning is not all that hard when you know how and have a sharp knife. Worth the effort.

Steve.