-
Wello produces the goods.
Hi fellow anglers.....My mate Jim and i decided to do an overnighter at Wello Saturday night.....Looked at Brownies forecast and thought okay 5 to 10 sounds good to us so off we went at 5 pm.
Arrived at the ramp 30 minutes later and the wind was a good 10 to 15 knots from the northeast.
I set the gps for spot X and a few minutes later we had tried to anchor up but the waves were a good half metre to a metre making the bow of the boat duck and dive.(The boat is low to the water line and a few waves decided to see how annoying they could be..lol)
We chucked out 4 crab pots and headed back to the beacons where it was a little calmer.
Just on dusk the wind dropped by a knot or 2 so it was back to our favourite location to set up for a nights fishing.
Had plenty of bites and break offs before landing the first good grassie of 35 cms, then the action hotted up and a few more good fish came aboard until high tide around 10 pm...The bite slowed down during the early hours until just before dawn when the mate hooked up to a 42 cm grassie....This fish dived for cover but we managed to pull it out of the coral bottom structure after a struggle!! At sun up the small pickers army arrived as they always do and it was throw back time nearly every cast.
Last nights tide was slow running and the full moon was covered by clouds...this was ideal conditions to hunt the sweeties and they didn't dissapoint.
We caught a variety of species which included squire, sharks ,eels bream, grassies.Heaps of fish just under the legal size were thrown back to catch next year...lol.
We pulled up anchor at 10 am to head home and pick up our crab pots....not a bad feed...4 nice sandies.
The best bait was whole baby squid on a number 3 single hook rig....using 12 LB VANISH AS A TRACE.
A great nights fishing and now looking forward to the Peel M and G this coming long weekend so hope to catch up with some of you people there.
Cheers Brent
Ps sorry the photo is a bit dark.
-
Re: Wello produces the goods.
Brent, nice job
Howd they go on the plate, the spotties are coming out of my gills at present, very tasty they were. Hope we get some good weather for next wk end.
-
Hi Rob...Mate they have been made into succulent fillets with the skin removed...no bad iodine smell this time!! and looking forward to them on the plate for tomorrow nights dinner.MMMMMM.
Enjoy those spotted steaks..lol
Cheers Brent
-
-
Mate i reckon the fish in the shops is at least a week old before it gets sold!!!!!!!....minds just sitting in the fridge maturing ready for tomorrow..lol
cheers Brent
-
Bet the sandies are down the hatch no tomorrow for them, are you after the sandies next wk end, getting the gear ready this week I am, no 1 priority well washed down. 8)
-
The sandies and all the fish except 2 i gave to my mate...he has a big family....id rather just take enough fish to eat fresh.....just the wife and myself.
frozen fish is tastless to me.
Yep i will bring the crab pots for sure and Jack will have his aswell.....this time its my turn for a feed of sandcrab!!!!!!!!....Jack can have a couple of small legs..lol
if he's lucky.
Cheers Brent
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Aquarius, I remember from an earlier post you said your boat is a pride tri hull? I'm pretty sure I launched just before you did at wello on sat arvo, is yours blue/white/75 merc? We were in the seajay tinny/40 yammie anchored on the shallows inside the beacon by the time you got back from your run down towards ormiston. I headed out with big expectations after getting five sweetlip to 39cm on wednesday night however after an hour and a half in the shallows for one nice bream we headed up to huybers to try for a squire, no luck, back at the ramp by 8pm, so much for an all nighter. I think I will stick to weeknights from now on, the weather is a whole lot better and you don't have idiots in 6mtr haines signatures anchoring within 15m from you.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Hi Sharkbait...Mate you are correct you must have seen my boat....I can't recall seeing you though.
There was a boat and 2 guys fishing in the shallow water half way up the leads on the starboard side as i headed out..1 person was in the boat and the other 2 were waist deep standing in the water....not sure what they were after?
You did ok catching those sweeties at 39cm. If your going to the M and G at Peel i will catch up with you then mate.
Cheers Brent
-
Good catch Brent
Look like a good night was had and the fish even played ball.
Hope they play this weekend.
Tight Lines
Adrian
-
Giday Adrian....Yes mate we had a top night out there......hope you are right and the fish play the game this long weekend.....Only problem is every man and his dog will be out there too if the weather's good....jetski's etc...see ya at Peel mate.
Cheers Brent