east of point lookout - Page 2

Thread: east of point lookout

Re: east of point lookout

we used to chase them trolling the weed lines, picking up a few....

I'v thought about spending a couple a days out there at the 50m mark with a large light weight floating tarp....but thats as far as I,ve got.......(thought)

Same here, but Ill get around to doing something very soon...bUURRPP

Main prob is the size of the anchor to hold the thing, everyone reckons an engine block... bit big and heavy to take out through the bar. Might try a very big sand anchor.

My theoretical model is a foam filled buoy, with lots of chain and gutterguard to get the barnacles growing painted blue so no one but me can find it

Ron_Collins

Hi Predator and Mackmauler

I've enjoyed your thoughts on pearlies. Wayne, thanks for the offer of GPS marks. That won't be necessary, though, as I reckon I've fished the same region and can recall a best effort of 10 pearlies with the heaviest around 3kg. On that day I was crewing for an old mate and it was his spot, as they say.

He caught eight and we did best as the tide made. I've noticed that trend at other locations like off Rainbow Beach where I've caught similar numbers for similar weights. No monsters, just good fish.

Bait wise, I've found fresh cut flesh such as mullet and grinner is great. And half a livie such as a decent sized slimy or yakka. I mainly stick to the head end of the dead livie and often "butterfly" what's left of the livie to give it some movement.

I took quite a while to come to terms with braid offshore, too. For a while I kept pulling the bait and hooks straight out of the fish's mouth - especially fish like amberjack. Now I quite enjoy using using it. In fact one spool of Bionic Braid has turned white at the business end - the service it's given has been so long and good. Spoke to Harro about that and he said the strength was hardly affected - it was simply loss of dye.

That's about as much as I can add to the debate for now. I've appreciated your frank comments and assistance. - Ron Collins, Ed.

Any word on the FADs that were supposed to be going in before Christmas. It was in Bluewater Magazine a couple of months ago and they were approved by the appropriate people and were being put in by some Gamefish Clubs.

I heard the fads were going to be pretty close to land, and down off the tweed, the nsw govt were paying for them i think, Wait and see I guess.

This is one of the small YFT that have been the trip savers on my boat lately.

Ron

bit the bullet today and went and bought 50lb braid.. only platypus super-braid, but a hella'va lot cheaper than the others. i'll see how this goes before I buy the good stuff .

all i gotta do now is learn to tie the mono trace on with the double uni knots.. ??? doesn't look that hard....is it ???

Predator,

Nothing wrong with super braid, I've been using it for about 3 years or more in the 30lb and 50lb varieties. As for the double uni knot, they are pretty easy to get the hang of.

Clutter

Ron_Collins

Hi Predator

You'll tie the leader to the main line in your sleep. Like you, I keep it simple and use a double uni knot for that job.

I've also got one spool of Platypus super braid and it's been a good all-rounder for me. It's 50lb, which seemed like a bit of an overkill at the time as I generally use 30lb offshore these days, but I bought it early in my learning process. I've had success with it in very shallow water - and in more than 150m on the down-side of the shelf off Fraser Island.

Hope that helps a bit, and many thanks for sharing your thoughts. - Ron Collins, Ed.

ok.... I know how to put mono on a reel, is there a specific way to throw on 300m of braid (first time).

or do I chuck it on like the mono, with the line spool in a bucket of water ???

thx

Firstly you'll probly have to work out how much mono backing can go under the braid, wind the braid on at a few kilos drag, bloody tight etc, I superglue any knots in the braid to be sure.

Ron_Collins

Hi All

I meant to say this earlier, but a 13 day detour into hospital not long after Christmas buggered that plan and heaps of others - this has been a very interesting post and it's generated very interesting replies for those of us interested in pearlies east of Lookout.

Among the many things I'm still trying to suss out about pearlies is how deep they can be caught at. I've seen them taken from water around
    150m between Sandy Cape region to North Straddie. But I've heard of very big versions being caught at much deeper levels than that.

Any advice or info for a mug fisho who's still searching for that dream "big eye"? Ron Collins.

Ron, I hope all is well with you, your gonna need a lot of strength to drag a bucket mouth out of the real deep stuff

Commercial drop liners may be able to shed some light, only a guess though.

Buggered if I know unfortunately, time on the water I spose, maybe one day

Ron_Collins

Hi Rob

Thanks for your thoughts. We'll see what turns up by way of information over the next day or so. All the best for now. Ron.

hi Ron

I dont travel that deep.... Max depth that I go is 90m at deep tempest, so I'm no help either i'm afraid.

I very rarely get out to those depths these days, as I can usually get a decent feed from the shallows....

Maybe you should start a separate forum for the question that you pose, might turn up better results..!