-
Ausfish New Member
Boruma Dam, March 20th
G/day to everyone. Just a quick report of my trip to Boruma.
On the water at 6am, looked around for 10 hours using Lowarnce X65 on manual and only came across a few small fish all day.
Trolled dark and bright lures, deep and shallow lures, threw spinner baits, soft plastics etc, at all the good looking structure from one end of the Dam to the other, with only 1 missed strike all day.
I was startled by 4 large swirles close to my scanoe though.
The water was dirty and the Dam has risen to about 60% over the last month.
My highlight of the day was seeing 6 Red Deer grazing peacefull by the waters edge.
This is the 4th Dam I have fished since the Feb rains with simular results at all 4.
The weather was Victorian. Sunny then cloudy, followed by heavy rain, showers, then sun again.
Deduction. The fish are all freaked out by the heavy influx of the fresh and are asleep for the moment.
Be there when they awake.
"keep ya hands wet" the Capt'in.
-
Re: Boruma Dam, March 20th
Capt'in do you mean Borumba Dam...near Imbil?...A few mates and i fished Somerset last weekend and the water clarity was much like you mentioned and yes the fish were not interested in lures, soft plastics etc..Heaps of fish showing on the lowrance x70 sounder.
I'm going to wait 2 weeks for the water to settle then try my luck there again.
Cheers #Brent
-
Ausfish Gold Member
john . that photo looks a bit yellow ehh ,, getting some milage out of it
-
Ausfish Gold Member
this is the only one ive got so far bewdy ehh
-
Hi Captain,
What's the lauching like at Borumba?
Last I was told, a 4 wheel drive was needed.
Would I have any probs with my tow vehicle, a Toyota ute ( 2 wheel drive only)?
-
Ausfish New Member
Re: Borumba Dam, March 20th
Hi guys, & girls. About my spelling, opp's. Well my teachers were right, they said that sneaking away from school would come back to haunt me. Still the fishing was good back then and who needed school, defiantly not I. (kool gramma ay?) John you started a photo war, (no bitch'in ay)
I hope that Marlin was glently placed back into the water an swam till revived then lovingly released (yeeeer)
To the Walrus. The water level is high enough for you to launch with a 2 wheel drive, no worries.
Was good to read about your trip north John, that Toga is a beauty,what lure caught it? Us QLD'ers are spoilt with all the great clarm water around ay!
Well. Go the Aussies in the world cup!!! and "keep ya hands wet" the capt'in.
-
Ausfish Advertiser
Borumba was fishing allright about 3 weekends ago but not as good as it was when low. Before it filled one trip I was able to put in with the Commodore but the second was touch and go with a 4WD. Should be good for 2WDs for a while now it has come up a bit.
As for the fishing we landed 2 Togas around 60 on Traps and helicopters (spinnerbaits), jumped one off and landed about 6 Bass up to 45cm. Bass were fat and fit and looked good - not pale and sunken like they get when water levels are low. Ran into one boat (Quinny Explorer with a bow mount) who were right up Yabba creek that had cleaned up the week before our visit. All the action was where the water was still running in. Fishing dawn and dusk might have been the go for them as well though we have found it pretty good fishing bank hours on my 3 trips.
-
Hi John & Swano,
Nice pics and a good Sara John not a bad spot the old Cania most fisho's think its a little far from Brissie etc so the fishing remains quite good. I too am looking forward to faust this year hoping that it will go orrrrrrfffff again say G'Day to jenny for me and Swano hows things haven't seen you about lately God forbid your not back at work are you and see if that BIG BOOFHEAD got the private message I sent him, was told that his private message box had been fixed.
THE BOMBER
-
Ausfish Gold Member
yeah bomber the big fella said he got ya stuff... but he also said he sent you some pms as well but you didnt get em eh? just loaded up me brand spanker chronarch with 20lb fireline , crimped the barbs on me shipment of dks and the like ready for the sept "SHOCK AND AWE" assault on faust with big and little george. when are you headin up?