Thread: Somerset Bass Hot and Cold

aquarius

Somerset Bass Hot and Cold

Greetings Ausfishers...Jimmy and i left home at 4-30am for Somerset Dam a 90 minute drive ahead of us.
    6 am and the ranger was just opening the main gates.....The morning started off foggy but as the day progressed the sun shine appeared.....This place is a real picture early in the morning with Kangaroos grazzing the banks and ducks and swans on the lakes edge.
    We trolled for 2 hours along the southern banks towards a place known as the hump......nothing even came close to our lures.
    We arrived in the bay 13 area and noticed a few boats jigging and bait fishing.
    This looks promising my mate said so i searched the bottom structure to find a trolling pattern in 20foot of water.....it wasn't long before a hot bite started.....12 nice bass in the next hour. Why is it the mate always gets the biggest fish?.....50cms of prime bass..(2 kilo)....he could not stop smiling for the rest of the trip!!
    The best i could managed was 33cms..oh well there's always next trip.
    The weather today out there was superb (5 knots) with heaps of ski boats and jet ski's.
    Its great that they seem to keep away from us fisho's at least 99% of them.
    The water surface temp was 25 degress at 6am and had risen to 27 by lunch time....water colouration was a little on the murky side.
    Best lure colour today was gold....best lure RMG Poltergiest
    We trolled the rocky edges hopeing for a yella but they weren't home today.......Most fish concentration was around bay 13 although we did not venture up past this point....trolled 20 kilometres (7 hrs)and used 2 litres of fuel....go the four strokes!!
    A beaut days fishing and this place will continue to draw us back for that elusive 4 kilo yella.
    Cheers Brent

aquarius

Re: Somerset Bass Hot and Cold

The best i could do on the day but wait till next time Jimmy.

aquarius

Another bass caught on an RMG gold lure.

They came on at high tide right Jimmys bass is a ripper, not bad eating at that size, bit like squire I reckon.

aquarius

Yeah Rob it was close to high tide. ..funny thing was they shut down just as fast as they fired up...must have been morning tea time..all caught between 9-30 and 10-30am.
    Mate you should have seen all those thousands of water birds take flight...the sky went dark for a few seconds...great sight!!
    Cheers Brent