Chicken - Wonderbait ?

Thread: Chicken - Wonderbait ?

Chicken - Wonderbait ?

This time last year I’d never used Chicken flesh as bait. In fact, if you’d even suggested it I would have thought you were mad.

Then last Winter, down at Cleveland Point while going for some Bream (with Prawns and Squid), I watched an old bloke out-fish me by about 5 to 1. Eventually he came over and offered me a handful of Chicken Breast fillet and assured me that this was what he was using. I thought I’d humour him and try a bit …………….. and bugger me if I didn’t start catching some huge Bream…………..

Well since then I haven’t looked back. I’ve caught just about most species using the good old Chicken flesh:
    As well as being a top bait for Bream of all sizes, I’ve landed Flathead, Moses Perch, Sweetlip, Catfish, Sharks, Rays, Pike, Longtom, Whiting, Estuary Cod, Squire (one of my biggest ever @ 40+cm)…………

Last Saturday night I was down at the Point looking for a feed of Bream (caught a few, but I chuck back anything under 30cm). Every now and then I’d get a decent sort of run – strike it and reel it in to find my hook missing – swear about bloody crabs (almost landed a nice Sandy early on) and whack another hook on……..
    Then I finally struck one of these “Crabs” and it struck back - and after a nice fight, finally landed a 35cm Tailor with my hook firmly set in the very corner of his mouth. I chucked him back as I stood there stunned and shaking my head muttering “Tailor - on bloody Chicken?”

So now I know what’s been nicking my hooks and I can add yet another species to my list of “Things that eat Chicken”……………..

It never ceases to amaze me.
    It does pay to watch, listen and learn from others………. I reckon I could fish for the rest of my life and never stop learning.

Re: Chicken - Wonderbait ?

I read your post about using chicken as bait. Well "I WOULD NEVER HAVE HAVE THOUGHT"
    Have you used the chicken breast cut up into small chunks or strips, or both. I wonder how using a strip of chicken on a 3gang hook would work going for something like mulloway or salmon. Let me know your ideas on this.
    I will be trying chicken next fishin' trip. Thanks for the great idea.
    Cheers for now!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi broncofish
    chicken strips work well for salmon, but so does a 2" piece of 1/4 plastic tube

G'day Broncofish,

Mate, I use small strips of either Chicken Breast or Thigh Fillets (whichever is on Special at the time).

As I've been targetting Bream, I stick about a 2-3" strip on a 1/0 long shank (Tru Turn) hook - sorta thread it on in small loops like a worm bait and just leave a little dangly bit.

I've never thought to stick a big chunk on a gang, but now that you mention it I can't see why it wouldn't work??
    Might give it a whirl next time I'm playing with the Tailor.

Let us know how you go with it. Good luck.

Hi Beggsy,
    I have to agree with you chicken is great as last saturday at Bruns heads i caught 3 Legal Bream 27-29,alsoa Flathead 70cm all on chicken also using 9555b hooks.
    Cant Go past CHICKEN its great.
    Wombat. 8) 8) 8) .

hey dennis does it help to spray WD 40 on it mate (private joke) or just slap on a good layer of grease?
    cheers jack

Ausfish Gold Member

I know the feeling. I have a mate who uses chicken breast and sometimes he absolutely kills me on the bream. But this has also proven to me they can be fussy creatures as other times I definately kill him with the gut baits. The hardest part is asking him for some flesh when they are really hitting it but I think he feels the same when he decides to change to their preference of gut on the night and has to ask me for some. Competition without words is a funny game sometimes but I'm definately glad we have some variety on those nights.
    Cheers Luke

being a lure man looks like l will have to go thru my kids toy box to find a little plastic chook

CHRIS_aka_GWH

... i might try a bit of live baiting in a nice surf gutter next moon for a big jewie. Anyone know where I can get a little pair of flippers from

seeyainthesurf,

I tried chicken as bait last bream season with only modest success but then tried beef heart with huge success.

I remember the old guys years ago talking about using bullocks heart.

very cheap bait also. Chicken breast can get a bit expensive.

Will be using same this season.

aquarius

AND THE BEST PART ABOUT USING CHICKEN BREAST IS THAT IF YA HAVE SOME OVER AFTER THE FISHING TRIP YOU CAN GO HOME AND MAKE YOURSELF A CHICKEN MEAL..LOL
    SERIOUSLY THOUGH THE BREAST SEEMS TO BE THE FAVOURITE PART OF THE CHICKEN FOR BAIT...WONDER WHY..LOL
    CHEERS BRENT