Thread: Offshore 11/5/03

Offshore 11/5/03

hey fellas
    rob picked me up at around 3:50am thanks to me sleeping in . Was a fantastic morning, calm as. We crossed the bar. And headed out, we starting trolling around shag rock for a couple of macks but to no avail, we pushed forwards. We rigged up my alvey with the bait jig and tried to catch us some bait, we got about 6-7 slimies and some other reef fish that i cannot remember as well as a chinaman leatherjacket which we released. Anyways we continued to our spot where we started targeting dolphin fish. After about 1-2 hours we scored a beautiful 20 dolphin fish. We figured we would try for some reefies as the dolhpin fish were starting to get a bit spooked. We traveled another 8km to a reef where we made up some paternoster rigs and baited them with fish flesh and the slimy mackeral. First drop i got a pig fish, rob got nothing. Second drop I got a 3kg pearl perch AND a pig fish. I turned to rob as if to say beat that! His next drop he pulled up 4 fish!!!! 3 pig fish and a 4kg pearl perch (im glad he had to work to pull those fish 100m up from the bottom ) Bloody amazing after that it went quiet. It was pretty strange coz a charter boat kept following us everywhere we went from the dolphin fish to the reef, mind you we were catching 4 times the amount of fish they were
    All in all I got 4 dolphin fish over 60cm 3 pig fish and a pearl perch fantastic I know what im having for dinner pearlie pearlie!! mmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    cheers jack
    p.s sorry that it was rushed but i got to go get these fish filleted

Big_Kev

Re: Offshore 11/5/03

It seems like Rob has the knack to put you on the fish hey Jack.
    I am still eating the dolphin fish we got the other day and have big plans for the longtail as a nice Tuna pie the boss makes.
    What a top week end and could you believe I could not get a deckie last night so I stayed home and watched the footy.
    And Rob I will catch you up for the raincoat next time.
    Cheers Kev [img] [img]

Love those pearlies, one of the best sights in fishing seeing a bucket mouth spiral up toward the boat. That mactuna tasted good apparently Kev The wind came up a bit at 10am, just as the fish went off the bite.

Big_Kev

Rob if I knew you wanted to eat the mac I would have taken a bit more care when I nailed him.
    Anyway thanks heaps for the trip and a new GPS is on the cards and I will return the favour for sure .
    Cheers Kev.

aquarius

MMMMMMMMMMMMMM PEARL PEARCH(CHICKEN OF THE SEA)
    Good work guys and what a day to be out there...to use Rexy's words JUST MAGNIFICENT!!
    4 more weeks and the mate and i will be out there in the big rig chasing those elusive snapper and whatever else comes along.
    Roll on those clear and calm winter mornings.
    Cheers Brent

Hey Kev, I didn't eat the mac my dinner ate the mac and what a feast it was! Hi Brent, you lucky buggers having a windscreen Those clear days are pleasure and pain in my tinnie, Whats that ugly fish you have there ???

Don't worry Rob, we'll get ya out in a rig with a windscreen soon.

Might have to make a serious trip of it Brent , Rob and Kev.

aquarius

Yes Rob we have a windscreen thank goodness....us oldy's feel the cold in our bones..lol
    That ugly looking fish is some type of groper.....don't let the looks turn you off they are great eating!
    Mate you will need to comaflage your boat so the charters leave you alone.
    Maybe you need a flag with fisheries inspector written on it..lol
    Hope to see ya on the high sea's soon mate.
    Cheers Brent

aquarius

Yeah Phill thats a great idea mate......before Robs beanie ices over and his fingers and toes start turning blue..lol\
    Cheers Brent