Thread: Mud/ St Helena W/end

Mud/ St Helena W/end

Although the wind is starting to blow cold, the water temp hasn't dropped yet. This and the full moon made it vary difficult to round up some Bream in the shallows.

At St Helena, Got a feed anyway, and if Squire were still 30cms, I'd have an esky full.

The wind dropped out on Sat arvo, around the change of tide ( 4.30pm ).

Spoke to Brian about 8pm and he'd eskied some good squire for himself and crew.

Went up to Queen Street ( read Mud Island East ), and played for some squire there and in close for a couple of average Bream. Yes Brian I did see you, and it was me flashing ( the torch ) at you as you were leaving to go West........

I counted 29 boats at the " snappper " grounds at Mud when I arrived. Including some very large craft in close and they must have been cooking something good for dinner as the smell of Garlic was in the air for quite some time....mmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The mozzies in the Bay Islands seem to be abating some what. That means nice cold nights and big Bream.

With the forecast what it was on Saturday ( N/NW going SW/NW on Sunday ), the east side of any bay islands was always a chance of flatish seas.

This was my last hitout before heading to the Fraser Fishig Comp on Friday for 10 days. Yes I know, but someones gotta do it !

So folks, get that Chook Gut ready for weekend 31st May and 1st June, as I see it really crank up the Bream on the first New Moon of the Season.

Re: Mud/ St Helena W/end

After a slightly bumpy trip out in 15-20 knotters, rounded the top and though i was in manly harbour.
    So headed to my own little spot, With Russell (B.P. B & T) and the neighbour.
    The squire were in a feeding frenzy, and before long both the crew had a few on board. >
    I though i was in a different bay, as i couldnt hook onto anything, while these two rassed and harrassed me.
    So brough out the small butterflied divers, they didnt no i had on board and finally had some luck.
    The majority of bites came on mullet strips and bonito strips.
    The bay glazed out by 6pm, then the big white ball came up over straddy. 8)
    Things were going great till we saw the red glow approaching from down st helena way, and susprise susprise it was the moon shinning off Phill new Ausfish cap.
    The place shut down around 8pm so moved around to the western side and finally the northern end.
    The western spot produced for a short time, while the northern end produce sharks/grinners/strippies and choppers with a few small squire lost in between.
    Russel hooked up to a monster, which when surfaced near the boat was one big turtle.
    Colin brought in a huge squid, which he didnt realize was on his line and it plightly recoloured the arse of my rig.
    By 11pm the wind had pickup again, so decided to head off with thing quire, they trip back to the river was lumpy.
    But still a great night, with nice squire ranging from 40-50cm and a few choppers for next trip.
    Did a left into the boat passage, at around 15kts and was plightly brought to a gringing halt, by the time i saw them (two orange ball floats)they were under the keel and wedge between the transom and leg, and pulled us up in a great hurry.
    As they were anchored to the bottom by 1" rope, which after tilting the motor we plightly cut, they float are most likely out in moreton bay after the tides.
    How the hell these thing were placed in the middle of the channel god know, but i reckon if i was going any faster, the motor would be at the tug terminal and rest of the boat further up and both under water.
    Told the water police about them, but they had no idea as to why or what or who could have put them there.
    But there must have been some serioud weight holding them, to stop my rig dead in the water at that speed.
    Nearly sent the three of us through the front screen, checked the boat this morning and all seems well, thank christ. >
    Good luck at the Fraser Comp Fellas and uphold the Ausfish Tradition.
    Heading offshore the top of Fraser for four days myself on the 31st may to chase some mean mothers way out.
    20-25kg stick are the weapons being used.

Brian,

Lucky you didn't turn into the boat passage at 15 knots the moning before. There was a dirty great yacht anchored right at the mouth of it. No anchor light. Nearly caused a great photo oportunity, 40 foot yatch with a little white tinnie embedded up it's arse!

Smerl

Hey guys,
    Someone posted a message about a heap of tinnies down the pin the other night with no lights as well. Who polices this - water police or fisheries?
    Maybe if we all get together collectively and keep complaining to the coppers, they might have a blitz on it.

Otherwise I fear someone is gunna get killed one night and I certainly dont want it to be me.......doing a ski jump over another boat and taking someones head off dont appeal to me.........

I understand what you mean by the groups of folk not using their lights at night.

Just a couple of observations by me.

1. I, turn my lights off in certain circumtances. Fishing shallow waters for Bream in Winter. This, to me, is Ok, as no boats should be zooming around in that depth of water anyway. I also have atorch handy to ' flash' oncomers. This is opposed to the clowns that have their lights off in channels or next to channels.

2. There are some boats that have the " anchor " Light set up so it CANNOT by viewed from 360 degrees. Some of these boats are setup by the manufacturer / dealer.

I understand that the rules are broken everyday by numerous people. But, if you do the right thing yourself, you should, on the whole, keep out of trouble.

If you wish to do something about people who are not obeying the rules, certainly say something or report them to the relevant authorities. Let's just make sure our own house is in order first.

8)

Hi xxxxhornet

I thought it wasn't compulsory for boats under a certain size to have nav. lights, just maybe a signalling device like a torch after sundown. I think it's maybe 5 metres, but I'm not sure.

When I got my license I remember thinking 'cos I had a 12 foot tinnie I could get away without 'em, but I have them on now for safety reasons.

Maybe someone knows the proper regs on this point.

inky

hi dr evil,
    according to qld. recreational boating handbook,navigation lights are to be shown on all boats operating between sunset and sunrise and in restricted visibility.
    sailboats less than 7 metres and vessels under oars must have a torch or lantern showing a white light ready to display in time to prevent a collision.
    power driven boats must show sidelights and either an all round white light or a stern and masthead light.sailboats under engine power are classed as power driven and must show same.
    ??? ALL vessels at anchor between sunset and sunrise must show an all round white light.
    hope this helps keep some of you blokes safe and out of trouble
    cheers inky

CHRIS_aka_GWH

where's the smiley face for a man shaking his head in disbelief.

I just sent off my boat rego payment this morning - & the survey they enclosed. There was a question where you could rate various aspects of boating bureacracy one of which was licencsing (BUT NOT INCLUDING TESTING - why not TESTING I asked in the comments section).

No offence drevil but your honest response shows how inadequate our testing is. #I dare say also at full plane as most recreational boaties approach an unfamilar cardinal mark they have problems knowing what side the safe water is - I could be wrong. Simple aspects of boating safety seem not to be understood by so many folk.

And Phil - I turn my lights off too - BUT despise flashing. Torch light is a direct beam & even from a distance beyond its effective range it buggers an oncoming drivers night vision & as soon as you turn that torch off or direct its beam away (like when that 50cm bream bites) the appproaching boat loses you.

You are far better off using a weak constant light. I use two anchor lights - a weak portable to turn on when fishing around boat traffic - & the bright hard wired one that makes the boat look like a Vegas cathouse.

Please don't flash Phil - I find it unsafe, rude & inconsiderate (remember you are the one bending the rules not the approaching boat). A weak light inside the boat just above the level of your gunwhales won't worry the fish too much.

Sorry to lecture, but the guys that flash torches down the pin on black moon nights are my pet hate. I have excellent night vision - one flash of a torch and its black dots for several seconds. At 20 or so knots thats a bit of distance.

i agree with your statement about torch blindness, But I also have fished the pin at nite a fair bit and I would not be doing 20kots or so, there are just to many boats and blind corners. All boats should be lit at night period!
    My thoughts only, not meant to offend anyone

G'Day Guys,

I was fishing (anchored) around Coochie Sunday avo/night. 3 yachts, 20 + ft range sailed past me, which by this time it was completely dark. None of them had ANY lights on, and one coming close enough to 'cast' into (I was tempted ). It amazes me how some people can be so stupid!! > I guess it proves once again, money can't buy brains, and I bet these people would be first to yell if someone ran into them.

Skippa 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

No offence taken, chris, and I will continue to " Flash ".

Let me explain fully then.

I usually fish in water from 6ft to 3ft deep and about a casting distance from the bank of the island I'm fishing. I am no where near any channel or main thoroughfare.

What happens is other boats in the area are poking around ( at about 4 knots ), trying to be quiet and setting up there spot. If they come with-in 50 meters of me, I " flash " the torch, but not on or at them. Nor do I point it at the water or in the direction of the area I'm fishing.

I do have lights on, usually, that are lower than the gunwhale, it's just that if I see someone coming my way and haven't deviated from their course, I let them know where I am.

If by doing this I am breaking the law, so be it. I do not encourage anyone else to follow my habit. But, surely, everyone knows, that in certain areas, fishing is done by stealth at night, and that means lights out.

It is up to EVERYONE to be alert.

I am dead set against the clowns that zoom around the Broadwater, Bay and Pin, without lights on. Also those Yachts that anchor up where-ever they like and show no anchor light, expecting us wee craft to be on the lookout for them.

Looks like a good topic for discussion anyway.

A idea which may work could be having a cylum(glow) stick up on your bow. It may not disturb the fish(I think?), but as Phil said people who are motoring around (slowy)would see quite easierly. not sure if they would fall into the safe night lighting regulations or not.
    My self I usually have a fluro light on in the bottom of the boat. It seems to give enough liight when required

Again my thoughts only

michael

gruntahunter

Phil sorry to say it mate you will become a statistic one day mate if you dont use ur night light .You may think you can hear or see every one approaching but one day you may miss one ...could be the wind direction so you cant hear or the other bloke not having his lights on.
    Rules are rules especially the night light rules and if you cant abide by them you should not be on the water mate.