Although the wind is starting to blow cold, the water temp hasn't dropped yet. This and the full moon made it vary difficult to round up some Bream in the shallows.
At St Helena, Got a feed anyway, and if Squire were still 30cms, I'd have an esky full.
The wind dropped out on Sat arvo, around the change of tide ( 4.30pm ).
Spoke to Brian about 8pm and he'd eskied some good squire for himself and crew.
Went up to Queen Street ( read Mud Island East ), and played for some squire there and in close for a couple of average Bream. Yes Brian I did see you, and it was me flashing ( the torch ) at you as you were leaving to go West........![]()
I counted 29 boats at the " snappper " grounds at Mud when I arrived. Including some very large craft in close and they must have been cooking something good for dinner as the smell of Garlic was in the air for quite some time....mmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The mozzies in the Bay Islands seem to be abating some what. That means nice cold nights and big Bream.
With the forecast what it was on Saturday ( N/NW going SW/NW on Sunday ), the east side of any bay islands was always a chance of flatish seas.
This was my last hitout before heading to the Fraser Fishig Comp on Friday for 10 days. Yes I know, but someones gotta do it !
So folks, get that Chook Gut ready for weekend 31st May and 1st June, as I see it really crank up the Bream on the first New Moon of the Season.