Thread: Peel Island 10 & 11 May

Peel Island 10 & 11 May

Hi Folks,

Having recently been out on a 'Moreton Bay Charter' to Peel Island and other various locations, the past weekend’s glassy conditions were the perfect opportunity to test out what I had learnt.

Departed from Wellington Point at 4.00 pm Saturday Arvo for a half hour run to the Northern side of Peel in perfect Bay seas with only 5 knots of South east breeze.

With a 'truck load' of bait on board we were prepared for a long session. Rat size Squire were like Piranhas as they tore our bait to shreds in quick time every cast.
    We fished through till midnight with only one average Tailor in the esky to show for our efforts. Time to get some sleep and try again just before daybreak.

Regardless of the lack of fish, it was just a magic time to be out on the Bay. zero wind and a mirror glass sheen surrounded us for most of the evening.

We woke from our cramped slumber around 5.00 am. Winter had arrived !!!!! A light cool 'Westerly' had Lillian and I rugging up for the morning session.

Just as the sun squinted onto the horizon, My fishing partner’s rod screamed off like an alarm clock. This fish was a lot bigger than the procession of 'Bream' size, Pinkies that we had been returning the previous evening. This fish fought well and after some close encounters with the Anchor rope, I netted a beautiful Snappery/Squire of about 5 and a half pounds (2.5 kg's for you youngsters) and 58cm long. The sunlight was perfect for a couple of 'Happy Snaps' so they were diligently taken. Before we could even get this first fish in the esky, my rod went off with a bit more bend and vigour than at any other stage of the trip. This second decent fish was quickly landed and placed in the Ice slurry. At 45cm it was quite respectable but a distant second to the previous specimen.

We fished right through till 11.00 am with a couple more keepers completing our catch. We estimated that we threw back at least a dozen Squire between 30 cm and 35 cm. With a bit of luck these smaller fish will grow to be Snapper one day.

Craig & Lillian.

Re: Peel Island 10 & 11 May

Nice fish, but only second place on the day

Part of the weekend catch !!!

It's a huge esky

Now this is what I call a devoted wife.......
    sleeping in what looks like an open topped tinny in a early winters night......

Well no not my wife, but a good friend and devoted Angler.
    All ways catches better fish than me and fishes all night for Bream during Winter

We were anchored at Peel for 18 hrs and I was still having trouble convincing her that maybe we should 'Call it a day' and head home ???

She's a Champion !!!

C.

aquarius

Hi Graig...Mate just wish i could have been out on the water Saturday night...other comitments though.
    You and your Lady friend put in the hours to reap the rewards.
    Great fish pics on a chilly Autumn morning.
    Looks as if the snapper season is going to be a boomer this year.
    I see your charter guide gave out some advice and tips and you used this knowledge to get amougst the quality fish.
    Good on ya mate...hope you catch a BIG SNAPPER before the season ends.
    Cheers Brent.

Hi , Great place the old bay, great to see you finally ventured out, now its time to try mud or harrys one night.
    Looks like your were camped just north of hanlons light, if my bearing are right.
    Bob must have shown you some fishy spots
    Heading to mud sat arvo, if your interested ???
    The bay really fired on the weekend by all reports and some decent snapper taken all round.
    With choppers in early around mud, thing are looking promising for the months to come.
    The esky does look too big for ya tinny
    Better grown that beard back mate with these chilling nights approaching
    If i had of know you were just around the corner, would have dropped around with a few rumbo's and blankets

Nice work Craig. can I recommend a Green Death in the Beer to keep ya's warm. ???

Listen you lot if you all keep this up the fish will become scarce & the green death prices will soar .Touchy ><> ><> ><>.

Craig,

Did you see any Longtail (Northern Bluefin) Tuna around Peel?

I've fished the bottom half of the bay only a few times.

Wes

Nice fish mate.

It just goes to show if ya put the time in you get the results.

I think I'll have to venture out that way soon.

Dominator.

Hi Guy's,

Thanks for your compliments and good advice

Yes Brent, A big Snapper would get my knees trembling

Webby, Getting keen for a trip to 'Wide Mud' or 'Deep Harry A'. Thanks for the offer to follow you out this weekend, but I'm committed to a Bream trip to the 'Pin' this Saturday night . I would not refuse a second offer . Last Saturday night we may have been anchored closer to you than you think. I'm assuming you could see the lights of Dunwich from your spot ??? Bob Kozien told me about a Jew spot that you may have been close to ??? Rum and Blankets would have fetched high prices on my ship . Yes Phill, Touchy's green death would have been welcome too. I did have a couple of 'Dark and Stormys' to keep me going 8).

Sorry Wes, No Longtails this time, although I did see a couple of 'Flyers' with there Bow Mount Electric in the water, watching a conspicuous flock of birds. Saw heaps of Longtails a couple of weeks back in the same area.

Cheers ,

Craig.

NICE fish graig real nice! i too was at peel sat arvo -evening we were squeezed in at the green at sth-west rocks, like you said great night we picked up two nice 40 cm choppers and about 30 very small squire (20cm to 33cm)and about another 30 mixed all sorts.Wouldnt want to be anywhere else hey!we came home about 9.00pm.Can feel a big red coming home soon(fingers crossed) might see you guys out one day been fishing peel for 3 months straight second home?might try mud soon? anyway nice fish again and ill catch you and your friend soon RAY 8)

Hi Craig

My wifes best friend is totally devoted in fishing as well and I see it is the same everywhere as she out fishes me all the time as well.

Not that it is a bad thing .... but can we get better schooling on catching bigger fish than our fine female companions

I often 'outcatch' her ..... but she has the size all the time .... kinda annoys me .... but she will stay over night and none of my male friends will

good to see!