Phill, what is a FB whiptail a very comprehensive range of species by the sounds, the weather must of been pretty dam good early in the week, it shore was here, look forward to some of your photos.
Yes, people, we made it back.
I'm sure the Bugmiester will fill in details, so my effort will be brief.
Overall, the trip went according to plan.
We put together a feed of reef fish from Green Job to Hussar, Red Throat, Coronation Trout, Footballer Cod, Trevally, Honeycomb Cod, Parrot, Spangled Emporer, FB Whiptail and of course I donged a nice Red Emporer .
We fished offshore from Saturday to Tuesday. Conditions were fantastic. Wednesday was bait collecting ( worm pulling ) and Thursday was Whiting Day.
Friday we emerged from slumber to...........play cards all day. Did I mention that we induldged in a couple of beers. Well, some of us did. What the hell is Caffery's ( brett ) ?
We promoted Ausfish well with a Stage appearence by myself to accept a prize. The bugman was on the big screen spruiking about Ausfish.
The Caps went down a treat Steve with some folk wantoing to swap their caps for yours..........ahhhhh NO, was the polite answer.
3,000 people, over 800 4 x 4's, 221 boats worth over 8 million bucks, tents the size of houses, 250,000 plus dollars in prizes givin away.
This event has to be seen to be believed. Talk about equipment and a well oiled machine
There will be some pics forthcoming, I'm sure, but nothing will beat the Bugmiester in jocks, tip toeing down the beach and into the water, on the big screen. Talk about white legs 8) 8) 8) 8)
As for that Landy, Yes folks, I'm converted.
And before Bugman says anything about driving over Indian Head in 2 wheel drive, I was NOT the driver .
Clocked up 205 klms on the Big Rig for 150 litres of fuel.
Try this in a 2 banger. we were in a SW/S wind of 10 to 15 knots, the current going South, stern into the wind and swell, Honda in reverse, idling and we are standing still. NO FUMES, NO NOISE, NO WORRIES. beats throwing out a parachute.
And I thought we were taking a big boat up there. Ours was average, to say the least. Not Uncommon to see 7 meter boats.
Over to you Brett....................
Phill, what is a FB whiptail a very comprehensive range of species by the sounds, the weather must of been pretty dam good early in the week, it shore was here, look forward to some of your photos.
When I've got a bit more time I'll give my full report including the painful/heartbreaking damage to my beloved landy.
I've put up some pics that I'll add to in the saltwatwer section here:
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfis...num=1054533549
Here's a sample.
top pics brett, if you don't mind me asking how much did the week end up costing (all up) and was it just the three of you. Looks good for a gettaway
joe.
Looks like you had a great trip Phil :-)
pssst next time can you talk it down a bit mate? I won't have room to fish with all the tourists coming
Unfortunately I didn't make it over to the island for the Comp, however from everything I've heard it was a good one. Maybe I'll see you there next year!