Pine river - Page 2

Thread: Pine river

Re: Pine river

Hey Crownie Monster,

Have a look in the July issue of Qld Fishing Monthly - all the details are in there. Its a CATI (come and try it event) but you need to have a livewell of at least 60 lts - Stephen Booth who is the editor of QFM will also be able to help out with any queries,

Quote Originally Posted by Lachie1
    I've been busted off round there before and we thought it was a jack cos it pulled so hard and did a big circle round the boat. Definately not a catty but maybee a jew??? What do you fellas reckon?

Cheers, Lachie
    Could have been a jew, Im fortunate enough to have caught a 3.5 kilo jack and a 5 kilo jew on the same light tackle and in terms of the fight the jack wins hands down. I guess the difference was that the jew felt heavier with alot of weight on the end and did circle the boat a couple of times which I can't remember the jack doing, though that was a while back. But really its only a guess, it could have been anything...even a giant herring...now theres a fish that circles the boat!

Rowdy

MangroveJase

Thanks for that Hornet, the 60lt esky has now become a 60lt live bait tank.

I'll be there on Mon night about till about 9 pm if anyones there say g'day

Fished the pine again last night,caught 5 flatties to about 60cm,plenty of pike,3 bream and hooked onto something big again. Hooked onto the big thing on the first cast believe it or not using a kakoda flash shad,whatever it was only had hold of the shads tail and thus didnt hook up but it was fun for about 40 secounds,dispite throwing the shad around for about 2hrs afterwards i failed to entice another hit from another biggin however had some fun catching some flatties and one bream (my first bream on a 6inch shad, he must of been hungry). Changed to my lighter outfit after that and flicked around atomic fatgrubs in motoroil gold colour and caught a couple of more flatties,another bream and plenty of pike.Fished from 8.00pm til 1.00am with the last 1hr being slow with only the odd pike taking the softies.Yes soft plastics work a night no problem at all whatever colour it doesn't have to be a lumo-glow in the dark job,natral hues like motoroil gold,pumpkin seed work just fine....I'm heading back out tonight i need to no what the large fish are are in this location at the moment,Catfish,Jew,Bullshark,Jack,Giant Herring i'm keen to find out and there is only one way CATCH ONE! So if you are out that way stop and say gidday...Ha xxxxhornet i might be back down there Monday night as well might catch up with you ha,pitty your only fishing till 9pm though as that will be about the time when the fish will be starting to bite..

Cheers Smithy.

Smithy,
    I'm in between boats at the moment and your pictures are killing me.......(memo to self .... stop stuffing about and get new rig urgently)

That bridge is/was a favourite haunt of mine........... I have had great fun around the pylons using Kokoda 9cm single tail Deanos (Red glitter) ..........the size seems to discourage the pickers....most of the time.
    I've found if things are slow I can change down to a Kokoda 7.5cm Double Grub (pink glitter or Baitfish) to increase the activity...
    I have to admit that I haven't done so well with the other soft plastic variations but I suspect that is a technique problem..
    All things considered it seems that a lot of the soft plastic varieties work here........

My missus hasn't caught the plastic bug yet........but she has had get fun there using mullet flesh..... cut into a thin triangle and on a slow retrieve.........

Never the less Smithy I will probably see you there soon (keep posting - Nothing like some gentle encouragement).... just give me time to get organised and get another rig!!!

Hartimes101........