Thread: Mud Island-Sat 12 July

Mud Island-Sat 12 July

Morning all,
    Headed over to Mud at about 12 PM. Leanne & Bugman on board. Scored a few livies out past the coffee pots. The bay was glass, no breeze, you could not believe that this is the middle of winter. Headed over to the East side of Mud where we met up with Webby & put the lines in. Small vermin. Lucky Phill arrived in the big rig but he did not bring us any luck.
    Heaps of small squire to 30 cm around 4pm through to dark but no keepers.
    Weather still perfect. No N or NE winds as forecast. Plenty of storm activity to the North up around Bribie & Redcliffe but nothing around our way. Very little current &
    very little activity fish-wise. Pulled the pick around 10 pm
    & headed back to Whyte Island. No fish dinner tonight unless I defrost some of that snapper I got on Tuesday.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Re: Mud Island-Sat 12 July

AH ! Fishing, Ya gotta love it !

Upon reflection of my previous posts where I seemed a little miffed at the world, yestarday brought back the reality of why I go fishing.

My report is as follows:-

Had my little boat prepared to go and take my 5 y/o daughter to the mouth of the river for a relaxing day, basically seeing the sights.

Neighbour Paul was passing by and stopped to see " What's up ". Told him of my plan and I could see the fear in his eyes. The fear of missing out on the chance to hit the water.

A few ums and ar's and it had been decided that he, his wife and 6 month old Mitchell were to join Brooke and myself on ReBait in the river. Quick placing of gear, food, and drinkies and away we were.

Launched the boat with no trouble, and the weather was looking great, in fact better than any forecast I had seen or heard. Cruised out to the river passing a pod of Dolphins on the way. It appeared to be 2 parents and a baby, and they came within 5 meters of the boat. Not a bad start. Into the River proper and was explaining the sights and spots to the crew when the Bugmeister called. Webby was late for reasons he will explain.

After a little detour I took Paul over to an area that has produced Bream and Squire on plastics and tried our luck, luck being the operative word. No fish and plastics , but, saw an old wreck / hull of a boat about 25ft on a barge, and there was movement beside the wreck. Bugga me, a bloody Muddy, backed the big rig in close, deckie got the landing net and bingo, one mother of a Muddy for the esky.

Motored out to an area near the mouth and anchored, using bait and plastics with no luck.

Weather and seas seemed flat outside, so the decision was made to head to Mud. A short while later we pulled up beside Peter, Brett and Leeann. Nice Knot Eel, Leeann !

Then over to chat to Brian, Craig and crew. Saw fish on the sounder, but decided that a Bream in close was calling us.

Motored into spot X, see Craig for details, and plonked the anchor in 6ft. The water was clear as. Saw the Bream swimming around, and even got then into a school by releasing a little gut into the water.

Now, with lines out, it was tie for a coldie, and some snacks. mmmmm Smoked oysters, Cabanosi, a tasty cheese and crackers. Does it get any better ???????????????????????????????????

The Moon popped her head up and I knew that it wasn;t long before we had to head back. Paul had the tail of his plastics bitten off, mmmm.

6 Bream, all on gut, in the live tank with the Muddy. In the berley trail was some Pike. Jigs out and 11 came on board. Biggest Bream went 30cms, but dropped a beauty at the boat.

Reflection time,,,,, for a plan to have a relaxing time on the water with mates / family. Certainly ended up Ok with a feed and a great experience as well.

All goes well for the little fella, as he can now boast that he has been fishing Mud since he was 6 months old.

footnote:-

The Beam are at Mud and all goes well for the 25th onwards etc. Some fresh flesh for the daylight hours will improve the catchrate though.

Hi. Headed out with Cragie and Colin to bay conditions that were too perfect, not even a ripple on the water, days like this only turn up few times a year.
    Cragie was after his first bay snapper, but will have to wait another time.
    Conditions were too perfect, plenty of boats, perfectly clear water and bright moon above lit the water s up like a christmas tree, needed that surface broken to reflect some of the light.
    Anyway we try 6 or 7 spots and scored a few under the 35 mark.
    When i finally scored one around the 55cm mark had him on his way up when felt that dread thud on the end, only to boat a nice head and a few guts attached to the end, head went around the 1kg mark.
    Finally found a patch where the bites were a bit more frequent but still only manage 1 at 37cm and 1 at 50cm.
    Nth westerly came in around 10pm and current in full retreat, bites had stopped so headed back after Peter.
    ### Also had the vandals at work at the boat ramp Whyte Island, they managed to remove both my spotlights and two/way antenna off my 4 x 4 , glad the trailer was padlocked to the forby### > >
    Anyway Cragie theres still plenty of time yet to get you on the board.
    Next time that tinnie parks next to us, could you please keep the noise and the lighting down, sounded like Huey Duey & Luey.
    Oh forgot Phill turned up sounding like they were having a party on board.
    And before anyone gets in to say why i was late, when you pull your batteries out to do some maintenance and reconnect them in parrallel make sure you connect the earth to the motor, otherwise nothing works, took me hour and half to find the problem

gruntahunter

I,d kill for a 1kg head

;DRe: Mud Island-Sat 12 July

Can I just start by saying what a difference 24 hours makes - hey Phil.

Gotta say - one of the best days on the bay I've experienced. 53kms an hour over flat seas on the way out the river mouth is something you don't do all the time.

Headed to the compass adjustment bouy first but it seemed we were too late. Everyone was packing up with a bagfull of winter whiting, where we only managed one for livebait.

Out to the measured mile to jig up some "other livies" and despite the numerous pfone calls struggled to find Webby over at Mud. "Oh you said SOUTH east corner" doh.

Handed over the muched prized GPS to the snapper king but failed to reap the benefits of his wizdom for the rest of the day/night. Lots of small squire and a few other vermin but good company and a fantastic day.

Hey Phil is "Mitchell still asleep up the front" gotta love Brooke.

One downside of the day was the lack of sharing from our friends in the big red #boat who failed on numerous occasions to pass any extra alcohol over to those long suffering fishing companions in the big tinny. # Sorry bout the lights too Brian but I just had to keep a check on you - just to make sure you were pulling those squire up out of the water and not the esky.

Personally I lay the blame for our lack of fish squarely on the bushy beard of Craigie - for no other reason than you've got to blame someone else for you're own lack of ability. Just how many fish did you bring over the side Craig.

Sorry to hear about the car Brian - you should report it to the police so they'll increase their patrols. >

Anyway let's do another one soon. Leanne had a ball and wants to buy a boat again soon #WHOO HOO

Bugman

And just who is this scary man

Brett,
    You gotta get a better camera. There is no way I look that crook. We had a dry boat all day yet that pic shows me to be half shot. Use the underwater camera under the surface & get a proper one to take pics on my boat. [smiley=shocked2.gif] [smiley=shocked2.gif] [smiley=shocked2.gif] [smiley=shocked2.gif] [smiley=whip.gif] [smiley=whip.gif] [smiley=whip.gif] [smiley=whip.gif] Apart from the photos & zip fish it was a great trip.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Thanks again for the trip Webby. May not have got my elusive Snapper on this occassion but it was a lovely time to be out on a 'Glassed out' Moreton Bay.
    Yes Bugman, I may be jinxed or was it the Banana I ate at the Ramp, prior to heading out on the water ??? Leanne wants to buy a boat ? Get a deposit on Peter's boat now !! Strike while the irons hot .
    Shit Webby, you had a forgettable weekend
    1. Batterey Trouble
    2. Shark chomps best fish of trip
    3. Filthy Thieving Scum at Boat Ramp >
    4. Mowwing duties on Sunday .

Looks like the catch of the trip was Phill's Mud Crab, amazing stuff, 10 Anglers in 3 Medium to large Boats and the best capture is a scooped up Crab that was silly enough to poke It's head out at the wrong time

Let's do it again soon,

Craig.