FRASER ISLAND -SHARK
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: FRASER ISLAND -SHARK

FRASER ISLAND -SHARK

the photo
    "whats the time"

Re: FRASER ISLAND -SHARK

remind me never to swim at Fraser Island again.what type is it?
    cheers Luke

a top effort, what the hell did you use to drag the shark in, how long etc

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Peter,
    I hope you only used a tailor rig on that tooth critter!!!!
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun...........
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Don't mean to offend anyone, but this type of thing gives the greenies plenty of ammo to discredit rec fisho's.
    Fraser is a national park and the pro's are getting the screws put on, and this type of thing gives the greenies a reason to shine the spotlight onto the rec guy's.
    The fish was released, but there looks to be plenty of blood around its gills.
    dazza

i agree with dazza

In all seriousness this post from Snappa has given me another game plan for my Fraser trip in October.

Being a southerner at heart (Tas not Vic) I don't mid the odd bit of flake .. so I might take the bigger rod/reel set-up I have and target the 3-4 foot fellas cruising the gutters for some take home fillets.

I'm not talking wholesale slaughter here but 2-3 would go down ok. Freezes heaps better than tailor and dart as well.

I've just got to remember how to skin them - anyone want to help me out there.

Bugman

Geez bug, your keen,
    snappa's post siad this one pulled the pajero 2 inches in the sand- better hang on mate

Can see the headline now
    Bugman ski's to New Zealand.

Snappa,
    your probably not a greenie, maybe a bit wiser and enviromentally aware, hence the shark went back.

dazza

Yeah dazza,

From what I've heard they've been pretty frequent in numbers and easily spotted. I think it will be a bit of sight fishing.

You're about 3-4 foot - I'll chuck bait at you

You're about 6 foot - GET OUT OF MY WAY I"M OUTA HERE

I don't like the prospect of hooking anything over 4 foot. My arms will never be the same.

Bugman

Barrymundi

WHY?

Ausfish Addict

My sentiments exactly WHY. methinks bugman is jesting if i know him, and personally i am not impressed with snappa's post. these animals are there to do a job. so what does that make us when we need a pajero to capture one. Oh by the way how do we know this animal survived even if it did swim out to sea.
    mho
    joe.

Hi All
    I take about 10 gummy shark a year at about 1 meter to eat, freezes very well and at $3.50 to $5.00 a piece at the locally takeaway I dont think I am being at all greedy in feeding my family. I also tag 90% of what I catch so I dont consider my self a butcher for taking a few gummy.
    BUGMAN
    I cut the backbone out, cut away the stomick flaps,fins etc, then I just run the fillets off the skin in the size I want. Might send you a photo of a fillet bugman, might take away your craving
    ps
    I dont agree with catching any thing with a 4x4 just because you can

I don't like to be involved in an argument thats not face to face but I can't let this one go.Snappa, you post something thats always going to be controversial and you call someone a prick for having an opinion about it ("prickraider", I bet it took you a while to think of that one). I can't help thinking you were looking for an argument all along as there are no pictures of any real fish from your fraser trip, in fact no mention of any at all. Dazza was right the first time, it is fuel for the greenies and if there was a photo given to the local or brisbane media of you and your mates or the other idiots who do this sort of thing it would be very helpful to their cause. You are naive enough to compare winching a 6ft shark onto the beach with releasing a bleeding chopper tailor. Yeah, they are both problems, and you ask where does it stop, it stops with the individual (thats you) Don't release bleeding tailor if they're legal and don't 4wd sharks onto the beach so you can be a hero. In your mind there may be similarities between a bleeding tailor and a bleeding shark but there is a reason for catching tailor on a fishing line (I'm sure you do it) but no reason for 4wding a 6ft shark onto the beach. If you want to catch a shark do like bugman said and catch one on fishing gear. I reckon you'd have a heart attack long before it hit the beach. Think carefully before you reply because I'm not posting on this thread again, you have the last word and people can make up their own minds. Me, I'm not naive enough to think there won't be people who disagree with me, but I'm not going to try and ridicule them for having an opinion.

you will be pleased to know that another southerner
    was prepared to catch sharks at fraser. he had a very thick rod and a reel the size of a small drum attached to the front of this 4x4.maybe a little bit more sporting than my method ..using momo line the same thickness as the wire rope i used.
    "whats the time"