-
Slim pickins on the bay
Gidday all.......Took Fisherman02 out on Moreton Bay today........Left Redlands boat ramp at 5-15am and we headed passed the Banana banks and on to the Hole in the Wall(Peel Island).
Conditions were good early morning with a breeze from the S/W........No bites at Peel so we lifted the anchor and set out for my favourite haunt at Wello.
Plenty of under size squire and Sweetlip and only 1 keeper sweetlip which i let go.....wasn,t too confident of catching a feed today......my predictions were right as the wind freshened from the N/E.....The bites slowed up so it was time to test the boat out again in the sloppy sea,s......no problem and Jack even stayed dry for the trip home(ok maybe just a small amount of spray on the Jackster..lol)
Another successful failure on the water but hey there,s always next trip.
Cheers Brent
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Slim pickins on the bay
G/day brent so i wasnt the only one to have a quite one,me and the brother headed to mud early if not for the spotties we picked up on the way out,we would have hardly lost a bait.As they say in the classics theres always next time
Cheers RAY
-
Hi Ray......Mate when that water warms up come out to Wello and i will show you where those big grassies lurk.
Fresh squid is the preffered bait at this location although you can catch them on half pilchards now and then.......You need a high tide around 9 am and light s/e winds to bring them on the chew.....see ya out there soon mate.
Cheers Brent
-
Ausfish Gold Member
G/day brent sounds like a deal just post me when your going and im a starter ok. Was talkin to the guy who runs the wello bait and tackle a few weeks back and he was very helpful with some info on the close in reef,so roll on summer !
cheers Ray
-
Aquarius let us know when you are heading out that way Iam always keen to fish the close in reefs
-
Vertico i will put a post in (going fishing) next time i head out to Wello.
Bring on the grassy sweetlip!!!!!!!!!!
Cheers Brent
-
Brent, its about time the machine was given a long run east btw jack has just recovered... 3 days in bed will wear you out jack cheers Rob
-
Hi Rob...Yes East would be great but the damn weather on weekends won,t allow this to happen as yet.
Suppose patience will pay off in the end and the offshore scene will happen eventually...just need that bit of luck and a guide to show me the way..lol
Cheers Brent
-
-
Hi Ray......Mate when Rob has the time to take us offshore you are more than welcome to tag along....ive been trying to get offshore for sometime now but working during the week and only having the weekends free most times its pretty hard to get perfect conditions.
My rig is a 15.5 ft Haines signature powered by a 90 hp mercury.
Cheers Brent
-
i got a 14 ft centre console with a brand new 40 on the back
iam keen to go through the south passage on a good day
iam actually heading out to the wello point reefs tomorrow morning
if it blows up ill head back in
-
Vertico...Mate it will be choppy for sure at Wello tomorrow....your best bet would be to go out at daybreak on Sunday morning......slow moving tide this week so you will be able to fish with a pea sinker or no lead at all.....Might give Wello a go this Sunday myself then head over to Peel before the N/E Wind change.
Will put up a post in going fishing tomorrow arvo if i decide the weather is ok.
Cheers Brent.
PS We may have a long wait to get outside with these damn northerlies blowing up!!
-
Ausfish Addict
Hi Brent
stop complainin about the northllies, when you guys get them it means I can generally go fishing in comfort, beats getting a floggin
-
Giday Blaze......Just reading Webby,s report in the current B n B Mag......nice mug shot mate......where were you fishing in that pic?......Hope the weather is kind to you mate and you catch heaps of fish this coming summer.
Is that pride still going strong? and the 70hp donk on the beast?.....still reckon your game taken the boat offshore......I found my old pride great on a calm day but she made my teeth chatter in a meter chop..lol.
Cheers Brent
-
Ausfish Addict
Hi brent
Bit of report in here about today. The old prides doing a great job and the 70 evi is still going well. Out in over a meter at times today and thats fine for a short time, nice to hide around a corner though.
Where I was chasing snapper is at the Petrols is in a channel between to islands and is pretty rough at times.
The little albacore was caught at st helens