Thread: Wello and The Rouse Channel

aquarius

Wello and The Rouse Channel

Hi fisherfolk......Jimmy and i left Manly boat harbour at 5am and headed for a spot of fishing along the Wellington Point Reef......sea conditions were very sloppy with a 15knot S/E blowing.Too rough for sweetlip today but i did score and lost at the boat a nice spottie mackerel.....foregot to loosen the drag..lol....6am and only catching small squire so i decided to try a gps way point someone gave me for the rouse wall.......as we headed out accross the bay it got much calmer due to i think shelter from straddie........The rouse channel was great with sea conditions almost calm.
    Out went the first baits and the action started.......heaps of fish all just undersize so back they went 1 after another.no keepers today but i was amazed at the variety of fish caught......maori cod,sweetlip,bream,parrot,rainbow-runners,baby snapper and you guessed it the old grinner.
    Looking forward to the next trip out to the rouse but will head out at dawn......im sure this is when the bigger fish will be waiting for breakfast..lol
    Vertico were you out at Wello mate?
    Top day out on the water .
    Cheers #Brent

Re: Wello and The Rouse Channel

G/day brent noticed your report on todays trip and sounds like the day i had too,I also left manly about six (a little later than yourself!)but i headed straight to harrys, ride out was lumpy but you get that huh ! Fish on the go from the start, lots of 32 to 34 cm squire (probably 30 ) and some nice sweeties same size, got smashed twice > doh ! just an awesome day to be there, seen a rig like yours at harrys did you drop in mid morning ? Anyway i say give us more of the same

cheers ray

aquarius

Giday Ray......We passed Harry,s about 6-30 am on our way to the Rouse.........probably would have been 8 boats anchored up there.
    Ive fished Harry,s several times and only caught small squire.........next time im there i will try a drift rather than anchoring.......might be better to cover more ground and keep the bait looking more natural drifting in the current.
    Last trip to Harry,s we pulled up a car tyre with the anchor..lol
    Mate its just good to finally have a weekend with light winds for a change.
    Cheers Brent

Aquarius... Woops slept in and by the time i got up i decided it was too late but wished i had gone out later on becuase the winds dropped on the bay supposedly. Iam planning on going out to wello this weekend prolly around 3 times
    and might try some spots with you if you wanna show me some like this rouse spot ? rouse wall ? wouldnt mind being there at night and just before sun up
    might have to get some marks off you
    see you out there next weekend as i got monday and tuesday off from work as well so ill probably be out there friday , saturday , sunday and monday with tuesday to recover
    i still cant get over getting smashed at wello around 6 times to something alot bigger than the average squire / sweety 20lb in 3 metres is a no no oh well the tld 25 is coming out next time
    30lb full locked drag i think

aquarius

Vertico ......sorry you slept in and yes you missed out on a top day weather wise.......wind dropped out by mid morning.
    I reckon the Rouse wall should produce better quality fish during the summer months........just need to get there before daybreak or do an overnighter.
    My old boss told me his brother-in-law always fished for mackerel in the Rouse Channel during the hotter months of the year and he caught some real nice size spotted macks on floating lines.
    Will give the float line ago myself next trip.
    I,m going to chase flatthead on trolled lures this weekend on the Gold Coast weather permitting.....will let you know next time i plan another Bay trip.
    Cheers Brent

G'Day Guy's

Fished Harry's on Friday Morning, had 2 weeks over at Straddie, but that's another story with Pickies if I can work out how to post em ??!!

The day glassed out, so much for the 20 knotters. We arrived at the top of the tide, so we decided on the drift and got hit before we could get baits to the bottom. Squire ranging from 30-34cm (basards !!) threw back about 30 all up, but did pick a couple up at 45 and 47cm. dropped the pick, and all action stopped. Lifted anchor and got hits straight away, best part was we were on our own with no other boats in sight untill about 12.30pm, but all action had well and truly finished.

Headed back to Amity to get a few Spotties just inside the South Passage Bar, after no luck in the Rous. All in all a good day on the water, followed up by a surf on Flinders beach.

Tony 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

G/day tony we anchored all day and did ok but berleyed pretty hard,but will try drifting next trip as we had another guy drifting past all morning and he landed a nice 5 to 7 kilo red.You didnt say if you got any spotties ? i picked up a few last week near mud so im looking forward to a few more any way might see you out one day ( ps how was the surf )

cheers ray

G'Day Ray,

Yep, got a couple of spotties too, just inside the South Passage bar.(not at Harry's) Been watching them for a few days from the beach (just out of casting range, bugger). >

We found the drift much better than anchor at Harry's. Would love to get a big red inside the bay !!!! although I did manage a small Red Emperor earlier this year from the southern end of the bay (to my suprise)

And, yes the surf topped off a great day on the water

Tony 8) seeyaonthewater

Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

G/day tony sounds like a top day mate, where do you put in, i use manly when im fishing mud,harrys,and green and i use cleveland near raby bay when im fishing around peel, wello, and macleay.And i would like to hear what sort of rig you have ( all the normal stuff, size,type,motor,color) might see ya out there one day

cheers ray

G'Day Ray,

Mainly use Reddie Bay ramp now, for no other reason that it's closer to home, when fishing Peel and surounding Islands. I use Raby Bay or Wello when fishing Harry's or 'other' locations up that way and Manly when fishing Mud or Moreton (Tanga wrecks, kids love to snorkel).

The rig.... well she's a Haines Hunter (what other boat is there??) V17R yellow hull, pushed along by a 115 Yamaha saltie. Named 'Obsession', yeah I know thats an original name! A great little bay boat, that lets me get outside too, on the right days.

How about yourself Ray, what rig do you have? I'd love to hear, and don't forget if you see me on the water, give us a wave and come over for a chat.(ie give me some tips!!)

Will be at Peel or Harry's this Saturday, weather being ok!

Tony 8)