Thread: BEACON BASHING - no cobes

BEACON BASHING - no cobes

BEACON BASHING
    I guess it doesn’t mean you bash the beacons with the boat
    Well I am not sure on this one. If the cobia wants to hang around these beacons I say let them.
    2 hours fishing the beacons and no fish except for the few lives I jigged up.
    Live bait works brilliant now, one way valve and the pipe goes to the bottom where the hose is
    Pulled together with a cable tie to make the water spray out

Lost one of my red crabs on the second drop so I made a decision to have them for lunch.
    Clam seas I made a dash for the cape set up 2 rods with large slimes
    Within half an hour the ratchet was screaming but it was lost after couple of minutes and then the second
    Well something big on but again lost but I do have bruised groin to show for the 10 minute struggle that neither of us want to give an inch. >
    Finished the day with squire and a parrot see photo
    I estimate each fish costs $50 each but hey a great day on the water and that included whale watching.
    Give it another go come Saturday.
    CREW WANTED
    "whats the time"

Re: BEACON BASHING - no cobes

WHALES AT NORTH POINT
    "whats the time"

I hope its calm like that tomorrow snappa, the whales look like they were having a great day, is that a white one probably the belly..actually looks a bit like an almost overturned sabo! cheers

Ausfish Addict

u r lucky u didnt have mack with u snappa or he would have had u trolling lures around the big fellas hoping for a hookup eh lol

thast right jaybee, cobia often follow whales

Bring on the Cobia for Sunday [smiley=whip.gif]4 beacons north [smiley=chef.gif]Crab for brunch 8)Whalewatching while spin jigging up to and past the high ,back to the Passage trying the Flatties on the outgoing 80mm killer toms Squidgies,livies and pillies also participating throughout the day. [smiley=computer.gif] a theary thrown together over the last coupla days from posts. ???Never fished this neck of the bay what are my chances? ; any secrets I should Know , bring it on.
    thanks Craig

Thx for that info mack!.....now i know why i'm not catching cobia.....cobia are chasing whales....nothing left to follow my lures

Peter,
    left you a pm...re crewing on weekend...hope the weekend weather is FINALLY ok to get out.

the live bait tank

many thanks to all for the info
    installed a one way valve and extented the hose to the bottom
    yakas stayed alive all day and released them so i could use again
    "whats the time"

looking at bugmans post on fraser island...
    i went through my pics
    this is the largest cobia i have caught
    on the coffee rock out from waddy point (1990)
    [move] [/move]
    "whats the time"

How big did he go Snap - I've seen a couple of big ones come off the top of Fraser - we lost a good'n out the front of Indian on his second run. Guy was a using an alvey and it couldn't cope with the turn of speed.

Before I got there - the other boat in our group wouldn't go around the corner. They fished the coffee rock and the Marloo for a couple of squire and a couple of nice Morwong. Their trip certainly turned for the better once I pointed them in the right direction around the front. Interested to hear how many fish you were putting in the esky back in 1990. A couple of the older fellas reckon it's not as good as it's used to be. I've got no comparison but it sure fishes better than any other place that I've been in a small boat.

Bugman

in the forground of pic you will see couple of containers they were full, plus 3 others . that trip i fished in close to waddy and the coffee rock in front of the resort.
    no many knew about it at the time.
    fished out from indian head to the gardeners alot for parrot, red throat, sweetlip,trout, black spot plus others ?? and the cod,,, mostly returned the cod if not damaged.
    did not managed very many snappa. ???
    my way of thinking ... there were just too many of the others to allow the bait to get to the bottom.
    i fished with quincy? for mackeral and bottom fish and we mainly fished out from indian. within 4 ks
    from the reports i get from some mates that still fish up there, numbers may be down but the quality is better

[move]fishing is better, compared to down here [/move]
    gee i would like to get back up there one day.one of the mates has a 17ft-er next time some one is going we might tag along because you need two boat together for safety in case of break down. not like the old days went i went by my self.
    my ute had locking diffs front and rear it would have no trouble across the sand at indian.
    "whats the time"