Speaking of Leanne. I do believe that your lovely partner is about to celebrate a birthday.
oh , and JB................
Webby,
Would you believe that your rod did not catch a scale all week. Only had it in the water a few times with lures out the back. I think it may have something wrong with it - it doesn't catch fish !!!!
I think we were lucky with the conditions but the area we were fishing only requires a short run to catch good fish. Even a little 16ft centre console stessel made it out there 3 days.
I think planning for next year may lead to a Fraser M&G.
Now all I've got to do is actually get any of the fish I caught for the week into my freezer !!! if there's any left that is.
Bugman
PS Jaybee. My Leanne reckons that Phil should be renamed "Unlucky Phil" because whenever I go fishing with him we hardly catch anything.
Speaking of Leanne. I do believe that your lovely partner is about to celebrate a birthday.
oh , and JB................
geez mate looks like you all had a top week, gotta love the photo of crew watching the fish getting cleaned. M+G at fraser sounds tops.
that brings back some fine memories for me.
fishing offshore at fraser island.
i went through my old pics and came up with some fraser island shots of my landcruiser ute and caribbean belmont 17ft.camped at waddy point (1990)
if only i had the balls to tow the cat up to fraser.
"whats the time"
well, an M & G at Fraser has a certain ring to it.
I am already going up in June next year. Why June you ask ? Isn't that Winter, I hear you say ?
Mateeee's, the weather at Fraser is perfect, this time of year. Like most people, they think Winter is cold and you should be staying indoors. Well, you couldn't be further from the truth at Fraser. Nights are around 12 degrees and days around the 21. Always a little warmer that close to the water.
OK, so I put trackie dacks on at night and sit around a camp fire, but the days..........glorious and limited people / tourists.
Probably staying at Dunduburra this time.
Cheers Phill 8)
Awww, I'm jelous!
Just as a matter of interest, how do you go towing that big rig all the way up there? I hear Frazers been pretty tretcherous towards vehicles of late??
Heard a report of a Kingfisher Bay Resort tour bus getting bogged and succombing to the high tide... Roumer has it the $350,000 bus wasn't insured for submersion...
DC
That's probably the case. Everyone going to these areas, should have a close read of their ins policy.
Even with hire 4 x 4's, if you drown it-you buy it. and if you have a prang and the insurance finds you had the tyres deflated to under manufacturers spec's, you're rats.
As for travelling up there with big boats. ReBait isn't big compared with some of the rigs that went there for the Toyota Classic. But, in soft sand, car and trailer tyres down to 15lbs, hook up a snatch strap and another vehicle prior to hitting the soft stuff, 2nd gear, low range and go like buggery. Or there abouts.
It's not the sand that's the problem. 9 times out of 10 it's the driver. But we all have to learn somehow. Always take a pump to re-inflate tyres when on the hard stuff.
But, you can bank on taking 3 hours from the Inskip barge to Waddy Point camp, towing a boat over 6 meters.
( Skipper:- ReBait and Skanky Hoe )
Geez phil, do you know what Skanky means? will try and put it here without being deleted eh. Ya lycras arent too tight are they, i know what a hoe is but, mmmm mate you need to watch what you are saying about yaself eh.
roflmao.
Dirty(sexually) ,Used,Tainted,Immoral Leanings and Tendencies.
Target is usually female and basically a variation on "Slutty"
A dirty ho.
Sleazy, down and dirty, acting like a cheap hooker.
I bet you didn't even have to look that up in the dictionary JB #
Well JB, it goes something like this.
The boat that is:-
When I'm in her, she's wet,
When I'm finished with her she's dirty,
She doesn't mind if I call her names ,
She, being female, as all boats are,
She has been ' used ' many times,
She's ruff when she's cold, but purr's like a kitten when she's hot,
She's had her fair share of ' Immoral Tendencies ", without going toooo far,
And she's as cheap to run as one of those " hookers " you mentioned.
And her full name is " L.T Skanky Hoe ", and she would like to be addressed as that.
She had presented me with a couple of other names, but, Titanic, Fairstar and QE11 were taken.
[move]<>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <>< # <><[/move]
Cheers #Phill
( Skipper :- #ReBait #and #Skanky Hoe )
Love it ROFLMAO Whered you find that eh.
There's two things that get bigger style boats up the beach to Waddy point on Fraser - common sense and brute horsepower. - I can't afford the latter so I use the former.
Ford F350's seem all the rage nowdays. You see a lot of them up towing very big boats. From memory I think they're something like 6 litre V8 diesels. Terry Nolan of Nolan's Transport fame was up there this year with his cat. It's 7.9 metres I think, and is a massively big boat. He's a got a F350 and pulls it over Indian Head quite easily.
The landrover is great in the sand with the only real problem coming at Indian. I can go North to South by myself but I use another car and snatch strap to go South to North. The biggest problem this year was the state of the boarded track from Middle Rocks to Waddy. At the end of every boarded section was a massive hole. Rebait's trailer has about 6 inches of travel at the best of times - put that in wheel ruts and I plough very well. Put that in a whole and I get the axe out and remove the odd board. .
Phil - I think it may be a bit of a challenge to launch ReBait at Dunduburra . Leanne's very keen on a family trip next year so we'd better get planning.
PS I'll return the boat as soon as I have a car to pull it.
Those F350's have over 7litres of engine under the bonnet, but that didn't help a guy recently towing a small 6.25 Cruisey.
Had the grunt, tyres deflated, but was using 2nd gear high range, and just spun himself into a bog.
Actually wasn't thinking of taking ReBait next year, as the weather is sooooooo good, that the little Stessl will go the spots off Indian. No we won't launch into Dunbudara, we'll head over to Waddy.
Keep us informed on the progress & prognosis of the Extreme Machine, may be worth mentioning here the problem and remedy.
I can feel a Fraser trip coming on ! oi !
Brett can remember when being on exercise up tin can bay, on a day off we would go down the beach in the landy in the skinny tyres, and pull v8s out of soft sand for a 6 pack like you say common sense, as we were in 4 cyl, with the normal skinny army type tyres, but then we were taught how to bog and debog a vehicle. On occasions even hooked up a tow rope to a v8 (range rover) with a 6 mtr rig and pulled em out, ho hum ROFLMAO.
have seen cut off volkswagans towing rigs up to 18 ft along the beach no worries at all. Like you said common sense
joe.