Swimming in the Seaway

Thread: Swimming in the Seaway

Swimming in the Seaway

Gentlemen,

Not really a fishing report but may be enough to wet a few appetites.

Went for my first dive in the Southport Seaway propper on Sunday. Have always heard about the pipelines so went down for a look. What can I say - I was gobsmacked at the fishlife. Big variety of species and some big size in some of them.

Points of interest were a big school of yellowtail kingies - nice school of Trevally - small school of absolute snodger whiting - some good bream and some bloody big Tarwine. I've always been surprised by the size of the Tarwine I've seen swimming with the bream schools in SEQld. I've caught a couple of good Tarwine but never in the numbers or size that I've seen when diving.

Sorry fellas but there were no Jacks but did "move on" a flathead that's imprint was around 90cms (going on a fin measurement)

Fishlife in general was quite amazing with a hoast of aquarium and general rocks species in attendance.

Came back with half a tackle box of sinkers as well. The best thing is that I've been able to work out fishing tactics now. It was interesting to see where the holes formed as a result of the pipe structure in different places.

It's all gone to memory and will be used as soon as I get another boat

Bugman

Gorilla_in_Manila

Re: Swimming in the Seaway

Think you better write it all down and post it here so you don't forget it!
    Maps would be good also!

Same Here. Bugman your not only an angler but a PI. Stalking fish.

G'day Buggie
    did ya see any of them lawyer fish, you know the ones with the grey suits. Sends shivers down my spine when i used to paddle the board across there.

Sorry Mick,

No noahs floating about - not even any shovelnose or wobbygongs. Actually I was also surprised by the lack of baitfish schools - no yellowtail - no herring - no poddy mullet no slimies. Maybe the pelagics were hunting the schools of more prettier fish.

Probably the best site on the dive was a school of around 500 baby catfish all 10-15cms long in a mssive ball on the bottom. We went up and hugged the whole school they were that tight. Slimy little suckers.

Gorilla and Chrisso - Sorry fellas but I think I'll put my theories to the test myself before I share it with others

Bugman

BRETT,BRETT,BRETT,This must be your lucky day as I have just realised I HAVVA' Boat & apart from the fact that I owe you money next time I see you(BP lure not paid for)I'm sure you being the great chap you are would be only to happy for me to take you to the pipeline so you can impress me with your knowledge & your fishing skill. .Cheers Touchy.><>.

Bugman
    Its quite amazing what you can see and learn by getting down amongst the action. Ive been a diver most of my life and I reckon that Ive learnt more about fish species,where they live, how they respond and the territory they live and feed in. I reckon all fishermen should invest in a mask and snorkel and go and have a look. Can be a very enlightening experience.

Yes Brett, if you're " going down " the best place can be the Gold Coast.......or so I've heard.

A lot of those sinkers belong to Nugget, maybe he will recognise some !

Hay Bugman, if you have any 7 and 8 ball's in that treasure you found pretty sure some of them would me mine

Thanks for the report, pulled in a 90cm flathead from the seaway 2 weeks ago, released her so it may be the impression you saw..

going back a few years l would snorkell the sea way each weekend , in search of tropical fish for the aquarium , the fish life is unbeleivable , at this time of year l have seen sea enamies with baby clown fish living in them they dont seem to survive winter , there are untold fish and marine life , cuttle fish make for a really weired encounter as they drift along in groups , squid are another trippy crittter , but the reel fun starts after dark , there are alsorts of strange critters swimming and sliding around out there , giant snails slime along huuge crayfish scavenge around , eels six foot long with attitude to match , and one of the most amazing thing is that most of the fish are a sleep yes that right they sleep you can actually touch them before they move along . one thing l should mention is that it is absolutely terrifying not being able to see beyond the torch beam , if you have the guts / balls give it a go it is brilliant only you wont see me back down there again its way to scary

cheers stephen

Well im going snorkelling in the Robina pub pond, Might have a few fortifying beverages first.

so ya just don a snorkle and mask hey? where abouts exactly do ya dive? are you refering to the pumping jetty? or the sea way? and spike mate where abouts did ya see the clown fish and enamies ?? would love to do a bit of snorkeling! but dont know where good places would be! and be goo to collect some fish for the tank!

Ive always seen people snorkelling along the seaway wall in the seaway itself and all along the rock wall, you might have to watch the tides though els you could get very embarrased or dead.

sounds dangerous then hey

Steve,

Would you believe we wanted to do a night dive in the Seaway this Thursday but the tides are wrong meaning we'll have to delay it a week or two. I've dived the tweed at night and most of the stuff there wasn't really interesting - bloody huge catfish though. Just got myself a new torch that is quite blinding so I'm eager to try it out.

The pipes themselves are quite easy to find. Drive to the Seaway along the spit and when the road comes to a stop at the water - the first is on your left hand side. You can see it because there's a concrete block there. The second is further east and can't be seen from the surface.

Here's a tip - Only one contains all the fish - I guess you'll have to try both but haven't seen much succes from anglers fishing from the rocks.

We dived at high tide and were the first of about 15 divers in the water. I think it gets pretty busy. There was also about 10 snorkellers there as well. It's really only possible at slack tide.

Smelly,

Could have been the same flatty - didn't see any hooks in her mouth - but if she sat there any longer I was tempted to stuff her into my bag.

Sorry all but the sinkers have gone to fill my dwindling supply - no names were attached.

Bugman