Buggy's southern sojourn - Page 2

Thread: Buggy's southern sojourn

Gorilla_in_Manila

Re: Buggy's southern sojourn

Bret,
    Great trip by the looks. Talk to a few retired Tassie guys up here and they tell me stories of getting that sort of stuff all the time. Couple of mates over south kiwi land do similar. Great stuff.
    Where those underwater shots taken with the casing for your sony cybershot?

Hutcho,
    Dont try to fillet the flounder. Just scale them, cut its head off and the belly flaps out and poach, steam or microwave lightly. Bit of salt and pepper and lemon juice is all you need to put with it.
    The flesh comes away from the bones pretty easy. Bloody beuatiful flesh and certainly worth picking around the bones. Got my first one last year and was some of the nicest tasting fish I have ever had.
    Jeff

Tony,

As a matter of fact the water was quite a nice 17 degress which wasn't all that bad in a two piece 5 mm suit. Bought a hood for the trip which I think made all the difference.

Kev, Craig

Managed the odd drink or two - amongst the crays two kegs of Boags went missing somewhere as well. We never really found what happened to them. .
    It's funny because you could search a 20m square area and maybe see one or two crays but when you found the right structure they were as thick as thick. My uncles and their mate couldn't beleive the underwater shots. They'd been fishing there for 40 years and not once have they seen what it looks like under the water. They were gobsmacked.

Jeff

The pics were with the Sony P9 in the marine housing. I've got a couple I took while floating on the water waiting for my uncle to pick me up in the boat. The clarity and colour are unbeleiveable. I'm very happy with it. It was hard to take pics of the crays because they were up the back of the dark caves and it was only the flash that made them sho up. So I had my head and arms stuck up this hole with the camera outstretched just snapping away. I couldn't really see what I was taking photos of. I just hoped they'd come out.

Hutcho
    Flouder would probably be equal top of my favourite eating fish. Just gut them and cook them whole on the BBQ. The skin peels off leaving suculant sweet white flesh with beautiful texture. it just falls of the bone. You really can't beat it.

Just to rub it in - on the last morning over at the shack I had four flounder and two crayfish for breakfast. Life was really tough.

Bugman

Bugman sounds like you found paradise...

For something different Hutcho and Jeff try marinating whole flounder for two hours in a brine mixture then smoking them...
    OMG mouth watering already

When we were kids we used to buy a cray tail at the markets in Ceduna/Thevenard South Australia for 50 cents, dip it in a big community bucket of vinegar and pepper and eat it whilst walking around the Sunday morning markets. YUMMO...

Ive seen some impresive shots of crays in crevaces but crikey Bugman that is awesome !!!

Rich.

Dan_H

truly awesome bugman, another place i could easily live for 3 months of the year is South Island NZ.. big trout, good fishing, great tramping and climbing, good hunting, not too many people and everyone is into huntin', fishin', and rugby

MR BUGMAN
    Now you just stop showing all those tassie pictures, we got sooo many queenslander moving down here now, most wont go home, now will give credit when due (you went back again) LOL
    Sounds like you had a good trip, remember what it was like 20 years ago. I can , picking cray up in ankle deep water etc

Ausfish Addict

blaze twenty yrs ago brett was still in nappies roflmao
    Joe

i HOPE THEYRE ALL NOT EMPTY STUBBY CARTONS THAT THE FLOUNDER ARE LYING ON!!!! .....WHAT HAPPENED TO JUST A FEW BUGGY!

Yeah BUGGY,

Listen to Blaze there and don't give too many secrets away

Cheers, Fishtale

Fishtale and Blaze,

There was magic working no doubt about it. Can't give too much away on the "secret location".

I saw some old family slides taken back in the 70's of the same sort of area. There's one of a single pot coming up from around the 8 metre mark. It's that full there are 3 blokes pulling it and the crays are falling off the outside as they pull it into the boat. The pot contained around 70 crays with 50 going size.

According to the rellies the crays were on the move at that time and the bottom was literally crawling with them. It wasn't quite the same this time but there was still plenty about - especially the biguns. 30 of the 90 from our trip would have been around the 2kg+ mark.

Don't worry I won't be moving back down because house prices have gone ridiculous in the last two years since I was down there.

Had cray for dinner last night

Bugman

PS JB, I wish I was that young !!!