Thread: northern bay

northern bay

What a ripper of a day [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] headed out with mick and billo to the cape and ran into countless tuna, after a couple of hours of action, 6 mortally wounded were in the esky and another 11 had been released, they were between 3 and 6 kilos.

headed up to the trench for the tide change and some marlin fishing but we ran into the spotties it was the sort of day you couldnt miss , the 15 spottie limit was reached so we started letting them go, triple hookups were the norm and it was just one of those rare days on the bay when you lose count

Re: northern bay

must have found the only school robbo... > i searched from here to half way down bribie... saw a couple get caught at hamiltons patches but they were few and far between so i opted to bash a few reefies, theyll go well on the pan this evening 8)

DaneCross

UGGGHH! Couldn't find a spottie to save us today Awesome day on the water though [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

aquarius

Hi Rob.......passed you this morning on our way to Manly.....think you were on your way home.......mate you sure know how to find those macks....(Will have to come and see how its done Mr Mackmauler style..lol)
    There,s nothing better than a day out on Moreton Bay when the conditions are perfect......even better when you get a bag limit of macks.
    Cheers Brent

DC, what area were you fishn? Brent, we would of been picking up Mick, launched at bribie, pulled the lines in about 3pm and caught fish all day long, it was in the end enough action to pull up the keenest..cheers rob

Sportfish_5

Mack - Saw you out near the M1 and 2 early this morning. As you said it was a great day. Spent 4-5 hrs just chasing one huge school of spotties/tuna. On the boil everywhere and not boat shy at all.

What a ball. The boat is a freakin mess - blood every where

Yep I saw some nice boats around there and the beacons didnt fire up when we were there, there must of been plenty of fish around as there were no boats in site when we found our motherload, top fun aint it

DaneCross

We headed out from Manly and headed for Tangalooma for a snorkel, the rods were on board but not the primary purpose. Came across a heap of small tuna/bonito boiling, just off tangas, didn't see any spots though Spose, we didn't really go out of our way to find them either Seems like further north was the place to be.

trying to get the flyline out from under the feet LMAO, fish everwhere!

Congrats Rob,

Like they say mate... Some days are diamonds...

Rich.

??? BS!! fly on the ss_mackmauler its not you rob but still...??? good to see you guys got into them, sounds like the report we got wasnt quite spot on, bit north than expected?

we used my slugs most of the time dont have anything against the fly. it is hard work to get the fish though and there are easier and less painless ways to get body piercings top report that, just in time as well,

Well done Rob, might have to follow you next time How far from the cape did you encounter the Spot's ? Did you find the smaller slugs worked the best or did they just eat everything ?

I was out both days searching the bay for mack's. Mainly worked the area between the sand hills and Tangas. Plenty of Tuna were sighted but only one was hooked( and lost within 10 sec )
    I went as far north as Combie Point bashing beacons and chasing schools, sounds like I should have kept going a bit further.
    Towed a big 'Haines' to the beach near Tangas, bloke said he could smell his engine burning ??? Hope he got home o.k ???

Awesome day on the water yesterday, did about 100 k's running around the bay.

Cheers Craig.

DaneCross

Gday Craig,
    I thought I saw a red flash out there off tangas heading north yesterday I thought about chasing after you to say hi and to ask if you'd found any but knew we'd never catch the Cyclone
    Those tuna were super hard to get y'day, the bait they were feeding on was too tiny, couldn't find a lure to match Man I hate those frustrating buggers.

Hi Craig, you must of been keen to go out saturday sunday was a stunner, did u get the hammer down once or twice the bite was better in the rougher water just west of the trench about 15k north, we had some good swells roll through a few times the spotties were scattered in amongst the mactuna as well, youd of thought a few would of been on down south ??? the standard slug was on the menu with gold and silver both producing, interesting the fish around the algae patches were less keen to bite.

ps, had to start making more