Mac Fever at Bruns

Thread: Mac Fever at Bruns

Ausfish Addict

Mac Fever at Bruns

Went to Bruns wednesday, too late in the arvo to venture out however we were on the suds at 5.45 am Thurs, back home at the van by 9 am with our bag limit (15). Friday was even better, had 9 in the boat within 40 mins and had to work hard, 2 hrs for the last 6. back at the van fish cleaned by 10 am. Saturday, well i would rather forget Saturdaythe bar was not pretty, and the skipper said nup, there are some good breaks but we have to come in against the tide which only leaves and hour out there, and we have enough fish. Good call i thought. Highlight of the trip was on day two, fish were chopping we cut the motor and drifted through them, froggies tried to hide under and around the motor while spots, spaniards, yellowfin, black king and sharks were feeding, and God knows what was under that lot, we managed two spots out of the frenzy and just watched for at least 40 mins. Took a mate with me that had never been on the ocean let alone over the bar or caught anything bigger then a whiting, he is chomping at the bit for more action and is now nicknamed Capt. Seaweed. Photos following.
    Joe.

Ausfish Addict

Re: Mac Fever at Bruns

day1 garrett pumping her up

Ausfish Addict

Gotcha

Ausfish Addict

End of day

Ausfish Addict

Day 2
    not a good shot hope u can see the fish.

Ausfish Addict

day 2 Garrett with the end result

Ausfish Addict

Day 3 on the bar

Ausfish Addict

down amongst it,

Ausfish Addict

still not looking good, lets put the boat on the trailer and become a sand dune skipper.

Ausfish Addict

From above it doesnt look to bad until you realise the boats are between 18 and 48 ft. These boats are coming back in around an hour later

Ausfish Addict

Run out tide on the bruns, this is an hour into the runout.

Ausfish Addict

app 48 foot trawler coming home

Ausfish Addict

oh oh full reverse taking it over the stern check out the smoke stack these motors work hard

Ausfish Addict

Just about in. phew. was a top 3 days tho.
    Joe

Gorilla_in_Manila

Top set of pics Joe.
    Bar looks like its got heaps of sand out the front. Certainly deserving of respect.
    Check out Sput's fishing report for Byron friday the 16th april. Pretty well lines up with your great couple of days.
    =============================================
    Byron Bay
    Water gin-clear with heaps of mackerel, especially up at Brunswick. A lot of small pearl perch around Julian Rocks, with a few spotted mackerel to 4kg. Heaps of big tailor coming from everywhere, beach gutters, rocks and bommies. Broken Head to Suffolk Park for huge whiting and some dart to 570g.

David Keevers, Coastal Fishing Tackle 02 66 857 133
    =============================================

Sounds like fishy heaven back there at the moment.
    Jeff