Macks and Muddies !!!
Just got back from a 2 week jaunt in Central Quennsland (how about we re-name the place 'Wind-Tunnel').
Lobbed in Turkey Beach the week before Easter, armed with 15 Rod & Reel outfits and a couple of fish bins full of Tackle and Bait, and a couple of Boats.
If you haven't guessed, the whole trip was a blow out. 20 -25 knot winds every day, although we did have a couple of mornings prior to 8.00 am when things eased slightly.
With the reef fishing out of the question and the estuary also getting a flogging from the conditions, we focused on getting into a feed of Mud Crabs from Sand-Fly country up the back of the Mangroves.
Usualy we were coming back with a couple of decent Bucks after a run of the pots each day. Mixed in were a couple of boom days when we scored 6 or more . Ended up with 35 Keepers for the trip, we were stoked . Best crabbing trip I've had to Turkey yet.
On the other hand quality fish were scarce due to the reasons described above.
Mother nature was kind to us one morning when we got out to the mouth of Rodd's Harbour to fish a lump of rock called, 'Goat Rock'. Pulled 10 nice school Macks in a very short session before the 'Fan' came back on again. It was enough to keep me keen to head back a.s.a.p.
Planning a trip back for June School holidays, I'm told the weather is very good and the fish will be hungry .
Craig.
Can't have a pic with out the new rig
I feel for you mate. I'm heading up to Turkey week after next. Taking planty of pots in case the weathers bad but sounds like you might have got them all .
Haven't been there before only to 1770 so looking forward to it. Shall let you know how we go.
Oh no !!! Not fresh crab again for lunch
Luck there was plenty of beer to wash it down
Ohhh nice muddies mate, looks like you more than made the most of bad weather conditions!! You couldnt ask for more, mac's and muddies ... got to be one of the best feeds going. How did the boat go up there? Good to see some nice pics, see ya out on the bay one day soon.
Jason
Did I see a can of Powers in one of those pics ???
Nice touch with the personallized rego numbers on the Cyclone Craig.
did anyone else notice ?
Well done Craig, on the Muddies, Goat can produce good Grey Mackerel when in season, and that should be when you go back.
If the weather holds, definately get out to the shoals or even buzz around Rodd's and down to Pancake stoping at every bump on the way.
Ahhhhh Turkey........blowing one day, blowing the next !
I can't beleive you guys don't give up on Turkey or other CQ destinations.
I reckon 3-4 trips in 5 are affected by conditions. Is that just bad luck or is it a regular thing.
Craig, I was out yesterday so must have missed your visit to drop of some crabs. I'll be home this afternoon.
Seriously
Bugman
Bugman,
Why give up on some of the best fishing locations along the East coast. Yes, throughout the summer months the wind does proove to be a royal pain in the arse, but when you get one of those magical days there is nowhere else i would rather be that on the water in CQ.
JD
Craigie
Good to see the old Muddies didnt let you down!
The schoolies would have been a bit of fun too.
Shame you couldnt stay a few more days, the weather has been great for the last 3 days.
Very good reports coming in from the offshore boys. Good snapper, nannigai, trout, cobia etc.
Will post a report from Mondays effort shortly. With a bit of luck the weather might be on your side
when you come back in June. The snapper should be in full swing then too!
Regards, Tony
I find the best way to get the most out of Turkey is go for a whole month,I normaly spend four weeks up there each January,during this time I can count on at least three trips out to the Shoals and numerous trips down to Bustard,my boat is only five metres but it eats the slop that is normaly blown up by late morning.Should the conditions prove to shity for the bay or outside there is no end of little creeks and rivers that hold healthy populations of Jacks,Cod,Grunter and the like,Ive even hooked a decent Barra there.I agree with CQ, When the weather is good the place can turn on some top fishing,when it's bad atleast the sand flies go quiet.Another great thing about Turkey and Central Queensland in general is that the people are so helpfull and freindly(even if you sport a yellow number plate).I love the place.