-
Re: hervey
Rob,
Great pics and what a millpond . That is a trip I would love to do one day. How much fuel did you use getting out there. I expect yuou would need to take a lot of extra fuel to travel the distances.
-
-
Severely sea sick in those conditions??? Was there much rum involved?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Well done Rob and Nick...
Mate anyone would think you have a license to convert fishos into Burley boys lol...
Maybe itsa your drivin'
Top effort mate and some nice fish too...
Rich.
-
Ausfish Advertiser
When that gutter is there it is the home of jumbo Greenbacks. These in turn are hunted by jumbo pelagics, especially Spaniards. Had you used this crossing before or was it a suck and see idea?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
rob,
A great read mate. it sounds like a top weekend. what are those bluefin like for chewin??
Dyl
-
Hey Rob!
How in the hell did your decky get crook in those sort of conditions?
Looks like ya had a ball mate!
Good on ya
Regards Tony
-
Thanks Liam, wont be long till the winds ease up there and the macks come on strong, just as we start freezing down here! Mark, is that a 680 you've got? what sort of donk pushes it? i used about 100 litres for the trip if your running a 2 stroke 200 on a 680 id expect youd need 400 litres plus, Smithy is the one to ask about fuel consumption up there on bigger boats.
LMAO Rich, the strange part was he wasnt berlying, yes my driving could cause it but dam its fun 8) Smerl no rum involved, ive spoken to the ambos today and they said it could be from lack of water or type of food or alcohol, nothing out of the ordinary that i noticed, this was some sort of stroke or full body cramp, put nick off outside fishn
Smithy, that was the first time id taken the boat through that gutter, it looked ok from the beach in past trips and a mate gave it the thumbs up as well, there are some breakers to contend with but not much different to beach launching in many areas, in small swell in a small seaworthy boat worth a look.
Dylan, they are ok eating cut thin and breifly cooked with some sauces you wouldnt knock it back, a good fish for fancy recipes imo, Tony, my deckie was fine all trip inside the bay just the breif outside run, but yes conditions were pretty good!
-
Rob,
Good to see some people are getting some good weather. It's been that long since I've been off shore I'll forget how to get the the reef up here
Looks like great fun to be had by all
Snelly
-
Looks like you had a top weekend of it Rob! Beautiful conditions and some nice fish there. Shame to hear about your deckie.
Headed to Straddie for the weekend. Will post report when I get photos/videos.
-
I envy you > >
-
-
[smiley=laola.gif]
Top write up and awesome pics Rob [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Looks like you fellas had lady luck on your side , those conditions are UNBELIEVABLE !!!!!
One of those rare occasions that would have to pinch yourself to make sure your awake [smiley=drunk.gif]
Good to see the home made slugs are doing the treat !!!!....good work on those too Phill ! got me hook ups the other week too ! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
-
Well Spotted Rob. I do have a 680sf with a 200hp 2 stroke. Great boat but a fuel guzler. Has a 350 litre tank so a reasonable range but I would need to carry at least an extra 100 litres or so. Shouldn't have really asked how much fuel you used as there is no comparison (100 litres for the trip is unbelievable . Do you know how many nautical miles (or kilometres) you travelled and/or engine hours. This would give me a rough guide for estimating fuel consumption.
Thanks for the great report and pics. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
-
LOL Craig, didnt see any spotties mate. Billo, how was the LBG trip? Mark,there good boats, used to fish off one a bit. we did about 140 nm, straight line it to the gutters or the shoals east of the spit its approx 100 miles return, staying on the boat out there would be the way to go to get the best out of a couple of days.