Offshore Double Island Point 24-25

Thread: Offshore Double Island Point 24-25

Offshore Double Island Point 24-25

Gday all
    headed up friday afternoon and took a guy from my work up in his 5 mtr savage to give him the DI experience. Had a quick fish in close only find the sharks in good numbers and eating any fish that was half decent. Saturday was dead flat and fished around the 8-16 mile region picking up pearlies, Jobfish, sweetlip, moses perch, parrot and maori cod. Fished some good reef on dark and picked up some good snapper and moses perch. bagged out on snapper and pearlies so went trolling sunday morning for macks but could only manage a couple of long tails. Headed to spot in close to make up the parrot numbers and they soon came aboard in good numbers and also hussar, pearlies(which went back) nannygai (scarlet sea perch) and also Amberjack.
    It was time to head back in with the esky over flowing but i would try around the bay area towards Rainbow beach for some spotties but could only manage some good sized mac tuna which were coming aboard thick and fast so we called it quits and headed home. Bloody great weather and fishing unreal. My hands look like they have been through a mincer but thats how you know you have had a top weekend [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]sorry good fish pics have been kept for articles
    Cheers Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

Re: Offshore Double Island Point 24-25

a few snapper

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

fun stuff

mates average close in parrot

mmmmm How did I know that would happen ?

good effort boys.

And doesn't that water look ' blue '.

with the bag limit of 5 Snapper these days, doesn't take long to reach it, in the right locations. 5 at 40cms is a good day in the bay, but 5 at 70cms is an average day at DI

Are you getting any good size in the moses perch, used to bag them to about 2kg wide of the sunnie coast, and proved to be just about the best eating fish around ?

For the rest of us, a few more details on baits and rigs, please ?

Some top fish there greg.. I'm starting to think that fishing off double island is cheating

phill the moses perch are around the 1-2kg mark and i agree with you there great chewing. During the day I use a standed paternoster rig as i beleive i can catch better numbers of fish using this method mainly around the pearlie grounds and some the good reef country. Using a floater around rough reef will see you getting snagged in no time. A floating rig will see you loose your bait more often with way less hook ups but usaully the better quality fish will be caught. I tend to use floating rigs when the snapper are around or change to this rig before the sun goes down as the snapper usaully come on the chew. The floater will out do any other rig on sweetlip as well as reds. The main bait used was whole pillies and mullet fillets but we did get some small spotties out wide which were used to catch most of the snapper.

JB fishing di is great with some great reefs in close and crap loads out wide and the best part is we rarely see strong current out there. My father has been fishing di for almost 20 years and i have been for about 12 years so you get to know the area fairly well but we have only found the smallest percentage of good reef thats out there and will keep looking when the weather allows us. It might seem that the fishing is easy up there but i can tell you alot of time and effort and stack loads of traveling to all spots is sometimes needed to get fish and quality that is shown. JB you should go up for a fish one day and see what a great area it is to fish. Its worth the effort thats needed.
    Cheers Greg

reefy
    we didnt cross paths on saturday .... you were hiding
    tried calling you on 94
    love the place and will be taking the cat up next time

the bar was great for the whole weekend and we came back just on dark.
    run aground heading into the ramp ???
    "whats the time"

Cheers greg for the mention even if you forgot that I caught the biggest fish lol. Seriously though Di has really opened my eyes as to what I had been missing out on and the family is pleased for the months supply of fish also anyone who has an oportunity to go out with an experienced fisherman do it as I learned a lot of the finer points from anchoring to get the right postion to different rigs for fish species. A true scholar and not to bad of a 4wd driver to. Hey greg maybe you could do an artical on how to reteive a boat from the beach? Whole new story that one. Oh and the fish had better watch out as I know how to read my sounder a lot better and I even turned off the fishy symbols which I usually looked out for. Oh and the shark stories I was told I did not really believe until I hooked many or rather they hooked themselves stealing a feed, most probobly did not know they had been hooked but when the penny dropped turned into unstoppable freight trains stopping at no stations on their way.

Snappa im glad you liked the area as it has lots to offer. The more you fish the more grounds you will find and theres alot out there. You more then likely were fishing a different area to me you can usaully get me on 86 up there.

FishFinger i didnt know a big shark was included

Greg I guess you would not recall it because I was the only one to get one to the boat, Reefmaster eh? How about Beefmaster, see you at work mate.